You Don't Need Medals to Make Me Proud

1 23
Avatar for Sexylove22
3 years ago

In this time of pandemic, the most common tool we use to communicate is via messenger. That includes me and my siblings. We do have our group chat, and we use it to make everyday check on each other and also tackle about our daily activities.

Earlier today, my only sister and our eldest brother proudly shared on our groupchat the achievements of their kids. Of course, because their kids are my nephew, I genuinely felt happy and proud as well that their kids received medals as one of the top students in their school.

After chatting with them, of course I also shared the good news to my son, and I was not expecting his response. He then said to me, "good for them, bad for me because I am not like them. I can't make you proud". I was surprised because I wasn't expecting his reaction. But, I snapped out from it, hugged him tight and told him sincerely, " that isn't true. Medals or no medals I am always proud of you. The little things that you do, the little achievements that you do, the effort the you do to be at your best always makes me proud. Having a medal is just a bonus. No need to compare yourself to your cousins. You want a medal? Then you need to do harder than you usually do, but do not just do it because you are competing with them, just because you feel like you are oblige to do it. Do it because it is what you want. It is what you aim. Focus. But always remember, mama loves you so I am always PROUD of you. Okay?". Kiss him on his forehead, and I saw a smile on his face, showing relief.

We must always remind our kids that we are proud of them. No matter what happens, and no matter how tough the situation is. Let us always show them that we are always here to support them in whatever they do and let us not pressure them. Let us be with them all through out their journey without expecting too much from them. Let them be at their best, they don't need to be better than anyone just to prove their worth, let us just remind them to be a better version of themselves.

Hope you enjoy reading this article, photo not mine, CTTO

Stay safe and Godbless!!

5
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Sexylove22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sexylove22
3 years ago

Comments

awwwwww true..huhuhuhu medals are just a plus on your achievement but making your parents proud is already one..

$ 0.00
3 years ago