Bitcoin, Ethereum and Reply All Emails

0 8
Avatar for SeventyFourSeventyFive
2 years ago

When I was first out of college, I went to work selling wireless phones out of a kiosk in a mall for a Sprint. At the time , Sprint was fairly new to the wireless phone business and because of this had a lot of young people working for them, which at times left for some fun stories.

The incident that I am talking about today has some relevance to what is going on in the crypto world, but, I also thought at the time it was just hilarious. An IT guy at corporate was leaving the company and had access to send a companywide email. He sent out a very innocuous message to the entire company saying, “I have enjoyed my time here at Sprint, but, today will be my last day. Good luck.”

Now, what nobody knew was that he was able to make the email system turn every reply to this into a reply all. So, when we all got to work that morning, there was already twenty or thirty emails clogging the system. Each saying either something like “Good Luck” or “I think you sent to this to the wrong person, I don't know you.”

As the day went on, it got worse and worse with messages clogging up the whole system. Then, managers and executives started chiming in. Each replying to say stop replying to the email. Each causing more and more chaos as people replied trying to explain why they replied. Each time, the emails went to the whole company.

Finally, a top senior executive replied all. He seemed very angry and once again told everyone to stop replying. As you can guess, this had the same results, people replying all to tell him why they didn’t know they were replying all.

Not sure why IT couldn’t stop it, but, it only died out once everyone that was going to reply did, or people lost interest. For the next week, you would see one trickle in by someone that had been on vacation, but, even that eventually went away.

Now, how does this story apply to what is happening in crypto right now? Well, it seems to be the same thing with Elon Musk’s tweets. There have been hundreds of articles about how Elon Musk needs to be quiet, or he is messing everything up, or he is attracting noobs and too much attention to crypto. My guess is that as long as he gets the attention and it works in his favor to get even more money in his pocket, he will keep doing it. Posts that say he needs to stop have the same impact as ones that say he is doing good for the cryptoverse.

Now, I get the irony. I am also writing a post about Elon Musk. Though, I am not sure I want him to stop. He is solely responsible for a whole lot of opportunity. Think of the dips he has caused, and the highs, too. If you want a steady 5-8 percent return, go invest in mutual funds. If you want something interesting and challenging, embrace Elon Musk. If nothing else, it will make his tweets run their course that much quicker.

I know the title is a little misleading, but, I didn't want to call it "Elon Musk An Attention Grabbing Whore That Needs To Shut His Cake Hole Because I Am Upset and Need To Vent," because you might have missed the only funny story I have from my years at Sprint. Thanks for reading.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for SeventyFourSeventyFive
2 years ago

Comments