Life of an Expat on the Beach

1 37
Avatar for Scotty17
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experience, Reality, ...

When I first visited the lovely and ever exotic Philippines in June of 2005, I was met with immediate culture shock. My tears welled up in my eyes when I observed the abject poverty of many people, and because they smiled through their struggles, something few cultures are able to do or even comprehend. I fell in love with the people and the country. I've never looked back.

I returned to the Philippines in 2009 with the consideration of staying permanently. As it was out of my price range of $50,000 to secure a residency card, I decided to extend my visa and then, when necessary, leave the country for a full 24 hours, re-enter, then continue to follow the lawful process. This took me to Bali, Japan, Vietnam and Cambodia, with Bali being my favorite destination.

This is where I stay when in Bali, Indonesia.

I moved around a lot, from Manila to Baguio to Batangas to The Fort to La Union and more. I drove the country taking it it's beauty, it's amazing sunrises and sunsets, and exploring all the hotspots like Mindoro, Palawan and Boracay (just to name a few).

This is a pic of me on one trip to Boracay in May of 2014. Several others followed.

I eventually settled in Central Luzon and found a place on the beach to rent for $225 plus utilities. A rock throw away from the beach sat well with me as a professional, full time writer. Each morning I arise at 3 or 4 a.m. to begin my day, with the waves lapping up on the beach and the fragrant smell of life wafting up and awakening my senses. I begin writing screenplays or articles for clients around 6 a.m. I cash in via PayPal. I am able to peer out my window at the beach at any time to rest my eyes or to obtain inspiration.

I've been in this location for five years now and have met some wonderful, loving people, all who remain friends to this day. Living on the beach is certainly an enjoyable, laid back life. Nearby resorts and restaurants (restos for those not in the know) are mere meters away. Good food is available when I don't feel like cooking.

This is one of my favorite places to hangout and eat at on the beach.

Inexpensive living along with simple life and the sunsets, along with a beautiful female companion. For those that live in the Philippines, you know the joys of family and love. For those who do not, you're missing out on a tropical paradise that never gets old. Get here, we'll do the rest.

4
$ 0.70
$ 0.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
Sponsors of Scotty17
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Scotty17
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experience, Reality, ...

Comments

For sure you have tons of stories to tell from the Philippines.

I am subscribing because I want to learn from writers like you. I am a trying hard blogger and my dream was to become successful one.

English is just my second language that is why my articles are very simple. I have read few of your post and made me think that you have been earning by means of writing for so long now. I want to become one of you someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago