My Visit to PARCO

0 41
Avatar for SaraEllen
1 year ago
Topics: Parco, Visit, Job, Luxury, Rich, ...

06/06/2022 (JUNE) (Monday)

Good afternoon, have a great day. How was your Sunday? As for me, my Sunday was awesome. I visited a place which I was longing to visit since my childhood. In our childhood used to go to our relative's homes. Every time we went there there was a big enterprise on our way. We were sitting on the roof of the bus. We had a chance to see into that company above from its walls. I was really curious to know about what is happening inside this building. I wanted to know the process of work and the living style of the people inside it.

Information about PARCO.

Its full form is PARCO (Pak-Arab Refinery Company Limited)

"Pak-Arab Refinery Company Limited (PARCO) (Urdu: (مشارکتِ پاک عرب پالائش گاہ (المحدود))) is a Pakistani joint venture oil and gas company active in refining, transporting and marketing petroleum products. It is a joint-venture between governments of Pakistan and Abu Dhabi."

(Source)

(source)

As you can see in the picture that it is a private company. It is an industry and its type is Oil and Gas. It is founded in 1974 with the collaboration of the Arab Emirates and Pakistan. Its headquarter is in the largest city of Pakistan and that is Karachi. Shahid Mehmood khan is its managing director which is considered a key person in this industry. In its products oil, high-speed diesel, kerosene oil, and petroleum distillates are top of the list. It has two owners. One of them is the Pakistan government which has 60% shares in it and the second one is Mubadala investment company (Emirate of Abu Dhabi (40%) contributions.

PARCO’s major business activities are:

  • Refining

  • Transportation

  • Marketing

(source)

It has three branches its main branch and headquarter is in Karachi, the second-largest branch is in Mahmood kot Qasba Gujrat and the third branch is in Attock city. My today's story is about the second major branch of Parco. We are living in an area near Mahmood kot Qasba Gujrat. 10 kilometers away from PARCO.

Behind the scene (Background knowledge)

When the Parco came into existence. The powerful political parties like PPP. It's MNA and the people of our area were against this organization. The rumors in the past spread the news that this organization will come into existence. It will harm our atmosphere because its major work is to refine the oil and that's the cause it will pollute our environment.

Innocent people didn't know the dirty politics behind the scene. They didn't know about the benefits of a large business entity coming into their area. This was then the best location to establish a corporation. So the local politicians and the company came to the table of agreement.

First of all the agreement was that company will provide free electricity supply to the nearby areas of the corporation within 7 kilometers radius. And will take local people as their employees.

This agreement was not beneficial for the politicians. They decided to take urgent and cash on hand to let them build an oil refinery here. In this way, they engulfed the beneficial rights of the poor local civilization. And they filled their tummy with the money as a result of huge corruption.


Geographical area and number of gates.

PARCO is decided into two parts. It covers q very huge geographical area almost 200 Akers.

  • One part is called its refinery area (where the tasks related to refining of oil are executed. It has very high towers and very sky-touching chemo in it. And on that chemo tower 🗼 a flame is burning since 1974, it never gets stopped, no matter if it 8s raining, hot or cold weather.

  • Its second part is called the colony area. In the colony area, all the workers of the refinery area are living. They are allocated houses in comparison to their job scales. And apartments are allocated to high-level officers.

  • It has a total of five gates. One gate is called R1 (route one, which is used for the entrance of workers into the refiner). The second gate is called R2 (R2 is a gate that is used by vehicles to get enter. The huge tankers of oil are get filled inside the PARCO, and they pass through R2). The third gate is the colonial gate (from which the inhabitants of Parco pass through. The fourth gate also is a way to the refinery area but it is on the North side. And the fifth gate is on the west side as a way to exit the vehicle.

My visit to PARCO

How do I know about the corporation?

This is a simple question to ask but difficult to answer. Well, it starts when I was a new adult. My uncle from my mother's side was having a milkshake shop in this company. A yearly funfair occurred in 2013 when I was studying in my high school. A funfair was held in this business entity. My uncle invited me to this summer funfair.

My first visit (to the colony area)

in total I had two visits to this company, my first visit was in the spring season. And the year was 2013. How did I find the colony area? When I got entered the colony of PARCO I felt like I am entered into miny Dubai. High security was at the gate, first, they made a gate pass of my name with the reference of my uncle who had a shop inside. As I went further into the central area. A colorful area was existing there. Huge buildings, luxury living style, clean roads, zero level load shedding, and greenery and flowers were everywhere. I look at people, they were enjoying themselves a lot, because I was from a middle-class family I felt a little bit inferiority complex there. Because the children of rich people were enjoying a lot, spending money, and playing with luxury toys. Overall my first visit was also very much enjoyful. I enjoyed it a lot and get back home on next day. This was a memorial visit, I remembered it yet.

On my second visit (to the Refinery area)

As I have already mentioned above that PARCO is divided into two parts. The first one is the colony area and the second one is the refinery area. Now in 2022 on the date of 5 June, I visited the refinery area. It took me half an hour to reach the PARCO. I was with my younger brother on a motorbike.

The reason behind visiting there was a job interview. I applied to the HRM department as a manager. They called me for an interview.

I asked my brother to wait for me outside. I reached R1(The gate for workers). Eight security guards were on duty. One of them took a step toward me to ask what kind of work I have inside the organization (They can't let you enter without any reason). Then I showed them my educational certificates. The security guard then referred me to another person that was sitting inside a room. He asked for my identity card. I provided him, then he asked to whom I want to meet, I told him that want to meet sir Majid in case of a job interview. I was amazed to see their security system. I waited for the call then they send me to sir Majid. I entered in HRM department building. It was so much luxurious.

In the north of the HRM department, there was very heavy machinery.

I first met with the receptionist and asked her the way to the office of sir Majid. She was so kind with pleasant behavior. She told me the way to their office. Every room was with an air conditioner. They then served me a cup of tea. Took an interview. And asked that they will call me if I am selected for this job. I have a hope that my interview went positive and that I will be able to acquire this job.

Thanks for Reading.

6
$ 2.41
$ 2.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Oikawa
Sponsors of SaraEllen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SaraEllen
1 year ago
Topics: Parco, Visit, Job, Luxury, Rich, ...

Comments