Desires VS Needs

0 32
Avatar for SaraEllen
2 years ago

Article #9

Date : 1 April 2022

I will start my today's article with a couplet of urdu language.

ہزاروں خواہشیں ایسی کہ ہر خواہش پہ دم نکلے

بہت نکلے میرے ارمان ،لیکن پھر بھی کم نکلے

(مرزا غالب)

Unsplash Image : Lead Image

Image (source) || credit Alexis Fauvet

Thousands of desires such that every desire suffocated

My wishes came out a lot, but still less came out. ( Mirza Ghalib)

Omg, first issue I'm experiencing here is, because of putting a couplet of urdu language my editor interface is changed from left to write, I'm not feeling comfortable with this style of writing. Then i changed it from the upper portion of writing window you can see in screen shots as under.

1st screen shot

You can see the writing side changed from left to right automatically because of Arabic writing styles, as you know Urdu language styles comes from Arabic. So, this algorithm changed the way automatically. Then i was feeling not good with this automated change. I tried to change it, as it was, then i successfully changed to to previous looks. You can see in the screen shot below.

Screen shot #2

By changing the language from Urdu to English, the writing system restored. It was an unintentionally learning 😁. So let's get back to our topic.

The verse i mentioned above with the name of a great poet of Subcontinent Mirza AsadUllah Khan Ghalib. This couplet shows the importance of wishes, and desires of a person. It says, a person have thousands od desires and wishes which are as necessary that they take a person's heart out of his body. And second line of this Urdu couplet says that, i wished as much, as i could but these wishes were not enough, more than these i am already having in my heart.

But i want to discuss another concept with you, some of you may be agree with me , and some may get disagree.

Needs VS wishes.

Do you think that needs and wishes are differ in nature with each other? Tell me in comment section, but here i will discuss my personal ideas, and will discuss these both separately.

Needs:

Needs are something that are must for a person to live, may be the word must isn't suitable because sometimes life is possible but so much hard without fulfillment of these needs. For example a person has only 2 set of clothes to wear, but one of these two gets too much rough and isn't wearable now, and he/she is passing his time hard by wearing this only one set of clothes, here, he needs an other set to spend his life in little bit comfort. Another example is a person has a single pair of shoes, and this pair gets broken in anyway, what will he do now? He needs a new or old but wearable pair of shoes, although he can live without this, but it is so much necessary for him to survive in this society. I hope you may get the idea of 'needs' here.

Now i will discuss about wishes and desires.

Wishes/Desires:

Wishes are somehow related with needs, but more related in concept than desires. Desires are something like you have already a thing that is needed, but you are wanting for more. For example, you are already having 7 set of clothes and you are wanting to have more clothes, you get bored by the old ones, this is your unnecessary desire, that resembles with extravagance. Another example is you are using a cellphone that is completing your needs, but you are wishing to have a new cellphone more powerful than the old one is a desire, and relates with extravagance. You don't need a processor of 4 gigahertz but you are wanting this is a desire of you.

Now the main reason for which this topic of an article came to my mind is my cellphone, that i am using since 4 years. Now it is as old, it can't work properly, it gets hang oftentimes, its battery timing is really sucking, it's pannel is broken, but i can't afford a new cellphone. I'm using it very patiently, it gets turned off while using. I am thankful to readcash editor window that it has an option of save as draft, otherwise i wouldn't be able to write articles here, it would have turn off and all of my hard work i may lose. And you can see in the screen shots above that i am using it while my cellphone is on charging, it means i can't use it if it's not plugged in. I'm really pity on my miserable condition. But i can do nothing now. And using a cellphone in this condition demands patience from the user, I'm hoping to change my cellphone soon.

And now, what will you categorize this thing?

Is this a wish of me to have a new Cell phone? Or a need to have a new Cell phone?

Provide me with your opinion in comments section.

Thank you for reading till end. ❤️

1
$ 0.33
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Tilawat
Sponsors of SaraEllen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SaraEllen
2 years ago

Comments