Two Queens At Lethal Odds

0 18
Avatar for Saphire_trisha
2 years ago

Oh Sister, how we came to have such enmity between us when there should be such love,

You turn to your Protestant advisors and blame for plotting treason but I only answer to God above,

Your duty is to England and mine was once Scotland but are we not both relatives raised as Queens?

Two women trying to make our own way in a world designed for the Men of our age, no longer even with the flush of our teens,

I've been implicated and incarcerated your captive for so long we're almost at an impasse you might say,

But I'm the noose about your neck and until you chop off my head I won't seem to go away,

And now you've finally gone and done it, you've signed the death warrant for a Queen who shares your own blood,

Oh dear Sister, are we not even cousins now, and do you not appreciate why I did what I did... I thought you understood?

In the Great Hall of Fotheringay Castle the axe finally fell in my 44th year; but I'd hoped for the status quo to continue with me your captive,

But I guess there can be no bond between us, nor our two countries if I'm rather unwisely left to live,

So I die having written my letters and will, provision for my servants and the due my God and Church would require,

And I ask that you remember I'm Royal and that by the grace of God as I go you recall this too may be how you expire,

For no Queen may rule on her own without her spies and aides and a strong will of iron, be certain of that for sure,

Always there will be threat from within and the constant looking over your shoulder from every foreign shore,

For no Queen may rule on her own without her spies and aides and a strong will of iron, be certain of that for sure,

Always there will be threat from within and the constant looking over your shoulder from every foreign shore,

Oh Sister, we are Queen's you and I, on your mercy and to your care I was dependent, but turn myself now to my Lord,

Let my dear Scotland know I'm gone at last and of my first husband's brother King Henry III of France at 2am have I penned my last word.

2
$ 0.76
$ 0.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Ezelazra3
Avatar for Saphire_trisha
2 years ago

Comments