It's called "Cuddle Buddy."

0 12
Avatar for Saphire_trisha
1 year ago

In Piedmont, California, the San Francisco Bay fog was just beginning to sweep in as I slid the cover of Jennings Burch's book "They Cage the Animals at Night" shut. He stays in orphanages and foster homes with just his beloved plush dog, Doggie, as a constant friend. My cousin from Connecticut had recommended the book to me, but I had no idea how much it would change my life and the lives of everyone I came in contact with.

An thought struck me as I looked at the plush animals I'd collected since I was a child. Like Jennings, I'd like to collect plush animals for youngsters. First, I reached out to local organizations that help children who have been abused or neglected and explained my plan to them. The plush animals, they suggested, would be great for therapy and would cheer kids up.

My project will be referred to as "Cuddle Buddies." I had to come up with the "buddies" for the first time! I solicited gifts of stuffed animals for Jennings by writing stories for the local and high school media. Schools, families, local companies, and toy makers all contacted me to offer their support. This initiative swept the Bay Area, much to my delight. There were creatures snuggled in every corner and on top of every chair in my living room by the second week. When my mother and I delivered Cuddle Buddies to the agencies, the children waited for us with their eyes closed, afraid to look yet giddy with anticipation.

Cuddle Buddies is still growing six years after it was first introduced. Every year, I reach out to additional toy companies and groups. Now, over 25,000 plush animals have been donated to organizations in the Bay Area and Connecticut, emergency units, two orphanages in Africa, and a German orphanage. Seven-year-old Simon, whose parents both died of AIDS, couldn't sleep at night at the Saidia Children's Home in Kenya. Simon was able to sleep through the night after selecting a grey koala bear from a table full of Cuddle Buddies. When I heard that a little girl in Oakland had given up her habit of self-harming in order to receive the large black dog that she had always desired, my heart ached. The utilization of Cuddle Buddies in this manner was completely out of my realm of imagination.

I decided to grow Cuddle Buddies since I knew I would be going to college and that others my age could do what I have done. To get the word out beyond the San Francisco Bay Area, I created the website wwwcuddlebuddies.net and contacted newspapers and television stations across the country. As expected, the response was hysterical. Kids, parents, and even the Girl Scouts had their say. Currently, I'm helping to set up two dozen Cuddle Buddies chapters from Utah to North Carolina.

Everything about our trip has been excellent. I've learnt how to see an idea through to completion, how to stand up for what I believe in, and how to deal with failure. Most importantly, I've discovered how simple it is to make a difference in someone's life and how much joy that brings. After graduating from high school, I plan to continue working with Cuddle Buddies while pursuing new academic and nonacademic interests.

2
$ 0.45
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Saphire_trisha
1 year ago

Comments