At The Oasis

0 12
Avatar for Saphire_trisha
2 years ago

I'm in the desert where the wind blows fierce with a thousand grains to rip my tears from me as it stings my skin,

The palms at the oasis are swinging this way and that dropping debris everywhere so I retire to my tent and I wait it out within,

The stars in the darkness had been my comfort a million watchful eyes all looking out for me in my time of need,

Even the scorpions were staying away in this awful sandstorm which was a blessing as he rewraps my bandage and I continue to bleed,

His sage turban only makes his eyes look like precious emeralds sparkling fierce in his anger that I would take such risks in my duty,

I'm bodyguard to the Sultana so how else can I do my task well unless I give my all and defend her to the best of my ability?

But he's worried and his strong hands tremble despite the gentleness he shows at dressing my ugly wound,

I like the soft trace of his fingers on my hot dark skin and I know when I sleep he will be there again in my arms so I'm doomed,

Lately I can't stop dreaming such idle flights of whimsy like he's feeding my hawk pomegranates or he's brushing my stallion with that tender touch,

I fantasize about those hands all the time and I know it's not real but it bothers me much,

I can't lose focus now I'm injured as I need my wits about me and my loyal servants real close and protected,

But in my dreams it seems he's the one to save me no matter how many times I've tossed and turned and always rejected,

In my fever as I sleep I know he wipes my brow with the water he fights the storm to go to get whilst it's cool,

Every time he slips out from the tent into the darkness is a risk my enemies may slit his throat by the pool,

And I try to rouse myself in my anguish and I fight the pain to wake and tell him not to go out,

But my mind needs rest and he's soothing me best at a time I struggle with my conscience and have my awkward doubt,

The camel's stir and strain on their ropes then settle on their knees in the dunes facing away from the wind,

My dreams take a new turn of desire and desperation and in them I was his defender and I grinned,

And we shared a look that melted my heart and I woke thinking I can't bear him to see my lust,

As I woke I nearly choke as his gaze met mine and I swear he still sees the longing there as it surely is, he must,

Just a tent in the desert illuminated within by fragrant lamps and the oils he's using to tend my sores and reduce my swelling,

What goes on there is a private affair and the silhouettes outside are never seen and nobody is telling,

A starry night in our encampment on the edge of a desert that thousands of bedouins cross each day,

And tomorrow we will be gone again towards Petra and in opposite directions we may have to ride away.

2
$ 0.67
$ 0.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Ezelazra3
Avatar for Saphire_trisha
2 years ago

Comments