Short but instructive

2 20
Avatar for Sani560
1 year ago

#Article 04

23, May 2022

There are different things that we experienced in our life every thing taught us a lesson that may be either good or bad. In this article I'll share my teaching experience .

After the completion of my graduation and before getting admission in M.Phil. I was free and feeling bored during this time. Then I decided to do some job. I send my CV to 3-4 colleges in our city. I also recived interview calls from them, But God has a different plan for me.

One day recieved a call from the principal of a elementary school of my village. He insisted me to join his school untill he arranged an alternative teacher because they don't have a science teacher in their school.

Firstly, I rejected his request by saying that I've already sent my CV to other colleges and before getting any postive response from them I can't answer you. But the next day he came aty home and insited my father, that ask your daughter to join my school untill I arrange some other teacher.

Then after all this... I decided to join the school, the next day i went to the school. I recieved my joining letter and then i met with staff of school. The first day is usually unproductive because whole day I just only attenend the morning Assembly, briefed about the schools rule and regulations, and principal introduce me to the students. As it was a elementry school so I was directed to teach science from 1-5 class.

The next day I went to the school and attend the morning assembly but I was uncomfortable in this school. Because I had some egoistic thoughts that I am graduated and how ca i teach here in this primary school, what the other people in surroundings and my friends think that I don't have any other opportunity that I've joind this school? There are alots of thoughts in my mind and then I start adapting myself in this environment.

There are different kind of students in the classes I've to teach, some were very nice and obedient, while with some students the satuation is totally opposite. I was very confused in the begning that how I'll mange all this and how I'll handle these students of elementary classes. Becuse at this level they are mature enough that they knows what is good for them and what is not.

In this school I not only have to teach them the science subject but also have to do work for their groming. In the first week , I faced many difficulties in teaching them because not all the students have the same caliber, so I have to teach according to each student's level of understanding.

I also tried different methods of reinforcement to get a positive output. These methods include both positive and negative reinforcement. I first time in my life punish a student and that was my last time also becuse at that day i fell so guilty and uncomfortable i can't slept the whole night that what I've done why I do punish that boy? Then I decided to resign from the job. The next day i meet with thw peincipal and I told him the whole story and also apologized.

The principal asked me that you don't have to resign from the job just try to understand the nature and level of understanding of students and don't use negative reinforcement if you are not comfortable try some other methods.

Then from the next day I started new methods to attract the attention of students. I also get permission from the principal to use mobile phone in the class for learning purpose. As this school is located in a village so it also lack the modren facilities. But I started using the mobile phone and arranged my class in circle and I always tried to find a relevant vedios of the topic i teached at that day so that they get a concept more clearly.

I also gave them some activities other than writing homework for example to patch the pictures of cornivores, herbivores and omnivores they had in their surroundings and collect their pictures from newspaper, old books or note books. I recived a positive response from the and every student in the class did his best to get more appreciation.

I also learned time management during this period. I manage the time of about 50 mintues and divide it in making attendence, checking homework, teaching new lesseon, displaying the vedios if necessary and taking oral test daily at the end of my class. I usually arranged a weekly test in once a week and after all this struggle i recived a good reaponse from my students. I also learned that no work is small or bid all the game is about our thoughts.

Those students who don't give a good performance in other teacher's classes also gave me a good positive response. My principal was very happy with my result in annual exams.

I did job there for 4 months and my salary was 41$. Then I left the job because I've to get admission in M.Phil. In this short journey, I learned alot of things which I think that i can't learn if I joined a college. I'm very Grateful to my God that I get an opportunity of learning and also the principal of that school who insisted me.

Thank You so much for reading💕

2
$ 0.86
$ 0.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Roojoroojay
Avatar for Sani560
1 year ago

Comments

Thankoooo💕

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh wow great you also have the good teaching experience & in the short period of time you also learnt the lots of things especially the time management. $41 is not the bad salary as the private school teacher

$ 0.00
1 year ago