Crypto scams everywhere!

5 30
Avatar for SamuraiX
1 year ago

I remember being a victim of crypto scam at some point. As much as certain people may want to blame me for ignorance, it is exactly what it is, Ignorance but I shouldn’t be blamed. After all, anyone can fall victims of scams (crypto or not) regardless of how knowledgeable we are. Those scams strike when we’re not even looking/ expecting to get scammed, then it happens. Just like that you become a victim of scam and you begin to blame yourself for being so stupid. I’d say don’t be so hard on yourself.

Source

Being a newbie in the world of crypto, I wanted to try everything since everyone kept saying crypto was the next way to become a millionaire. If not a millionaire but the fastest way to gain financial dependence without having to go through those unnecessary years of hard work which guarantees nothing.

While attempting to get into the world of cryptocurrency, I had zero idea on how to perform a simple activity of buying, so I had to contact some random person on the internet who managed to gain my trust in some way. It was unfortunate that I sent money to that person with the hope that I would get a certain amount of BTC in return. Unfortunately, I received nothing but excuses from the sender. He kept insisting he had sent the cryptocurrency to my wallet while I kept checking but got nothing. I had zero idea how long it normally should take and how to check the BTC explorer at the time in order to monitor transactions/confirm if truly there was any such transaction on the chain regarding my wallet.

A day passed and the excuse changed from “I have sent the money” into “there’s network issue so it didn’t go through”. It was a meaningless excuse which I believed at the time due to my ignorance. This ignorance is what didn’t allow me to realise that I could have easily purchased the desired cryptocurrency on my own from a crypto exchange using fiat via my debit/credit card without the need for a third party. After several questioning, I no longer received any reply from the acclaimed seller and my money went into the wind. It wasn’t a large amount of money but regardless, it was painful because it was my first attempt at crypto and it turned into a mess.

After some time I had to educate myself on the basic knowledge via research, and eventually realised that buying and selling was a very easy process which I could have done on my own. It turned out that the scammers literally leveraged on people’s ignorance at the time and used it against them. They realised that everyone wanted to get into cryptocurrency but didn’t have the basics/required knowledge, hence it was an opportunity to rid them of their hard-earned money by first gaining their trust.

Since the initial scam, it's been difficult to trust buyer, much worse was anything or organisation that that promises to pay in cryptocurrency for performing tasks on the internet. They literally steal your data and pay you nothing for the time and effort. It’s all messed up.

Source

I came across read.cash via a friend and was initially sceptical until I saw several testimonies from him and others, which has brought me here. Looks like this isn’t scam like the others I’ve come across. I’d be spending some time here and will hope to be among the testifiers too.

Being a victim of scam in the crypto world more than once completely changes your mind about all things crypto related. But with BCH, I guess the story is going to be different. I’m going to observe for a week and will see things for myself.

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
Avatar for SamuraiX
1 year ago

Comments

Shit happens but that's part of the journey. Someone almost tried to scam me but too bad for him, I wasn't a noob anymore.

Since you're new, will send you an article I wrote before. Things you need to learn first to avoid any additional problem in the future. I will send it later.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess it's impossible to avoid scams from contacting us. All we can do is be smarter than them.

Looking forward to the article. I wonder what it's about.. 🤔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really believe you will enjoy your time at read.cash as it is a wonderful community and a reliable source of earning.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I guess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago