My Painting Process Part 2 - How to Draw a Coastal Landscape

3 12
Avatar for Samuel-Earp-Art
3 years ago

This video follows on from my recent video on my painting process where I was painting en plein air in a place called Taupo Bay. Normally when I begin a painting project I start with a plein air painting (painting outdoors).

Having returned to the studio I began sketching. After the first sketch I did which I showed in the first video I decided that I could do better and so I redesigned the composition and used some reference photos from a different time of day.

In this video I show you how I sketched a scene of Taupo Bay on grey card and a range of pencils. The advantage of sketching on grey paper is that the darker value allows the highlights to really stand out especially if you use a white pastel pencil.

I also explain how values in the landscape work and how we can apply it to drawing.

If you would like to see more of my art work check out my website.

3
$ 0.00

Comments

Good work

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This video is very interesting and educative. A green-horn in the field of painting needs no long essays to grab it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago