Non Crypto Writers – Try Medium!

0 13
Avatar for SamBTC
Written by
3 years ago

I frequently see posts or comments saying that non-crypto don’t get much visibility or attention and the king’s share of focus is given to crypto based articles. I personally have an unbiased opinion on this I like writing about crypto based topics but I also like writing about several non-crypto topics like Minimalism, Spirituality and Mythology.

From my experience I think different platforms are suited for different writing styles:

·        Publish0x- Write something interesting about crypto related topics and you will definitely get a lot of attention and decent earnings from tips. I know this is not fair for people who write about non-crypto topics but you need to realize that there are many platforms for writing non-crypto stuff but Publish0x is a rare platform that still maintains it’s focus on crypto. I hope Publish0x stays this way so all the crypto fans have at least one place to call home. What separates Publish0x from other platforms is that there is no setup period. If you write well and write regularly you will start earning very quickly. This is very different in other platforms where newbies really struggle to get visibility.

 

·        Uptrennd- I really liked this platform and was spending most of my time there during early months of 2020 as initially they maintained a clear focus on Crypto but later opened up to all general topics. As expected it led to a huge surge in new users, new post and new spam. Now it is very difficult for a newbie to get visibility there. I am not exactly a newbie there as I am on level 16 and have been active for several months but even I don’t get any attention there now. You win some you lose some no complaints.

 

·        LBRY- I joined this platform recently and so far I really liked it. Writing articles will not get you visibility here but making good videos definitely will. I used to suck at making videos but I decided to give it a shot and within a month I have published 5-6 videos and despite the amateurish feel to my videos I have managed to get decent visibility. I am really bullish about this platform over the coming months.

 

·        ReadCash- Another platform I joined very recently and it seems like a mix between Publish0x and Uptrennd. Not too many users so easier to visibility. Open to all topics but crypto posts get decent visibility. You are rewarded for interactions, comments, likes etc but spamming level is low. The payout is in BCH and if you post regulalrly the earnings will start trickling in quite early. Definitely worth a try.

 

These are the platforms I am the most active on and as I mentioned some reward new ides on crypto like Publish0x, Social interactions are rewarded in Uptrennd and ReadCash, strong video editing skills will take you far in LBRY. If you are a solid writer who has the natural ability to make his ideas flow into the posts then I think you should definitely try out Medium.

Medium is very different from the other platforms I mentioned earlier and before I get into the benefits of joining Medium let me lay out the challenges there are to getting successful in Medium.

·        Curation- Medium is very strict about curation process. They have a dedicated team that reviews all posts and then decides which will get visibility on their homepage and which will rot in the deep end. Even small grammatical errors or typo will mean your post will get no visibility

·        Long Setup Time- Based on personal experience I can tell you that it will take a long time before your posts start getting visibility. If you have the patience are there is a topic you are passionate about to write regularly for a long period then only this will make sense for you

·        Paying Viewers- Not all viewers on the site are equal. There are free users and other users who have taken paid membership. You will earn something only if the paid members visit your post. High number of views from free users will mean 0 earning.

·        Crypto is not a Priority- Their featured/ spotlight topics keep changing but crypto is not a focus area for them and I have not earned anything from my crypto posts which I put there. The same posts which earned well on other platforms earned 0 on Medium.

 

Why am I still on Medium?

After reading the points above I am sure you would be wondering why am I still there and why did I continue for so many months when I was not making any earning. There are 2 main reasons:

1.     My Passion for Minimalism & Spirituality- These are 2 topics I like writing about even if I am not getting paid for it. These have no audience in other platforms so I decided to stick to Medium

2.     Earnings come with Patience- The reason I am writing this post is that 3 months back I finally started earning something and gradually it picked up pace. I got $0.5 and $0.6 on some posts initially and this months it went up to a few dollars. Yeah, still pretty low but I am hopeful it might grow in the future if I continue posting regularly.

 

What are the rewards if you make it big on Medium?

Another big motivation is what is the potential earning if you get established as a recognized author on Medium. They post every month the rewards distributed to the authors and in this link you will see the May rewards - https://medium.com/@mediumwriters/may-updates-from-the-partner-program-245edb548fd7

 

There are people who left their day jobs once they became an established writer on Medium as there are many affiliate options you get if you become popular there.

If you are really passionate about writing on some non-crypto topic and have the patience to wait it out then feel free to join me on this adventure on Medium - https://medium.com/@spradhan.dce

 

STAY SAFE! From Coronavirus and from Crypto Whales!

 

Cheers,

SamBTC

_________________________________________________________________

Publish0x Referral - https://www.publish0x.com?a=zPdyJz7eQr

Read.Cash Referral - https://read.cash/r/SamBTC

PreSearch Referral - https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=1557018

Brave Referral - https://brave.com/mil098

LBRY Referral - https://lbry.tv/$/invite/@Crypto_Sense:1

Atomic Wallet Referral - https://atomicwallet.io/join?kid=19NNBQ

Join me on Medium - https://medium.com/@spradhan.dce

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of SamBTC
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for SamBTC
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Well written guide my friend. I agree with you about Uptrennd. It was nice to get started there when it was just focused on crypto. It is still a good platform that I enjoy using, but it has become so hard to find good quality content with so many generic posts. Hopefully they are able to fix this because I really miss the days when Uptrennd was just simply the "Home of Crypto."

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks PTE! Yeah, Uptrennd has started putting some focus back on crypto since the last week by starting some crypto based contests. Hopefully things will get better soon.

$ 0.01
3 years ago