We beat the virus at home on our own.

0 14
Avatar for SaltyLemonade
2 years ago

These were the days I thought I’d die. We didn’t get tested but we knew it was the virus that hit us. We were directly exposed to a covid-19 payient. Two weeks prior to the onset of the symptoms, the patient came here for a quick lunch. The family kept it as a secret. His daughter is a doctor, he was kept monitored in his house. We only knew that he got tested positive when he was recovering and almost done with the quarantine.

First day, I felt a headache and no matter how much sleep I get it just wouldn’t go away. I took paracetamol to ease it. I slept a lot that day.

Second day, I woke up early. Did some house chores, I took a bath using a warm water. I still had a headache and my throat started to feel uneasy. I still have my sense of smell and taste. I had a headache and fever in the afternoon. I still took paracetamol to ease my headache. I was burning and I tried to sleep but I couldn’t. I just rested the whole day. My sister also felt the same.

Third day, I lost my sense of smell. I couldn’t smell my lemon! No matter how I sniff it, I can’t smell! By this time I started to get the colds and dry cough.


Fourt day was scary. I didn’t had a fever but colds and cough are getting worst. In the afternoon, I started to have a difficulty in breathing. I felt like I was drowning. I can’t just stay at one place. I kept on walking around the house. Drinking my ginger tea, drinking water, and rubbing some ointment on my chest. It was just me and my niece that were awake that time. When I can no longer take it, I went to my sister and woke her up. She panicked when I told her I can’t breathe properly. I said to her to calm down since I was maintaining myself calm at that time. She immediately phoned her husband’s cousin- a doctor. Asked for advise on what to do. She checked my nails, pinkish- a good indication. I was advised to inhale a steam with salt in it. After a few hours, I feel better. I had a diarrhea that day. At night I did a steam bath and inhalation. Day4 was scary and I was thinking a lot. What if I die now? What if it will get worst? I cried. I was disappointed. A lot of things were running in my mind. I slept and I woke up the next day.

Day 5. It was the same as the fourth day. I was sad. I was looking intently at my boyfriend. She kept on asking what’s wrong. I just shooked my head and said nothing. I still can’t breathe properly. I continued doing the steam inhalation and steam bath at night.

Day 6. I felt a bit better. After taking my morning bath, I was out of the house. Walking under the sun and getting an exercise. It felt good the warm sunshine touching my cheeks. No sense of smell and taste but I was still eating the food.

Day 7. Exactly one week. I was still doing the morning warm water bath. I was adding sambong in it. I was getting better though I still have colds and dry cough. Still no sense of smell and taste.

Day 8. I was recovering. I could breathe properly. Colds and cough was there.

Day 9. My cough was gone but I still have the colds.

Day 10. Colds but I was recovering.

I am fully recovered now. No more colds and cough. We didn’t go for a test because we know that we will be positive for the covid-19. My brother-in-law was the first in our household to get the symptoms then me and my sister. We were extra careful to not infect the kids but my nephew got infected at day 6. My niece has a strong immune or maybe she was just asymptomatic. She got a fever at Day8. We boosted our vitamin c intake. More fruits and vegetable. No meat and oily food and most of all we didn’t go to other places to avoid spreading it. My boyfriend was also sick at Day 3 but he have a strong body and immune. He got back his sense of smell and taste now.

Covid-19 is real and far different from seasonal flu or common flu. The infection is rapid! Hospitals and quarantine facilities are getting fully occupied. We weren’t stubborn. We knew that we’ll be taken to an isolation facility, we were worried about the kids. We are confident that we weren’t infected anyone outside of our home. We were monitored by a family doctor.

Ginger tea, fruits and vegetables and staying active were tue reasons why we beat the virus. We listened to the advices and recommendations of people who got fully recovered from the virus. Number one thing to do if you got the symptoms is to not panic. Stay calm and eat healthier foods.


1
$ 0.00
Avatar for SaltyLemonade
2 years ago

Comments