Breakfast photography part-1®®®

11 25
Avatar for Sajib2
Written by
3 years ago

Adam Goldberg never expected to be taking mobile photos of his food, but now, like many Instagram enthusiasts he can’t imagine not doing it.

“I almost consider my iPhone a camera that has a phone function, rather than a phone that has a camera function,” he says.

Goldberg is the man behind the @alifewortheating Instagram feed, and with 330,355 followers and a newly launched mobile food photography class on Skillshare, we wanted to pick his brain about how to take a food photo that is worth sharing.

What are some common mistakes you see people making when shooting their meals for sharing on Instagram?

Anything shot using a flash. There is something about flash and food that just makes the food look like an autopsy report. I think some people also get too close. When you get too close to food it doesn’t look appealing. It looks like a science experiment. I’ll try to step back a little bit, really try to put the food in the context where it is being experienced in the restaurant. I will [also] almost never put a filter on food, because it tends to skew the colors and the tones in an unappealing way. There is nothing appealing about a spinach salad having a red tint to it because you put on a vintage filter.

In your opinion what are the key elements to good food photos on Instagram?

The most important elements are really lighting and composition. When you are taking a mobile photo, you really have to make sure that the environment you are in has great lighting. If I’m in a restaurant one of the first things that I’ll do is ask if I can sit by the window or sit outside. With food, the colors have to be right or it doesn’t look like something you would want to eat.

People are sort of hardwired to either like or dislike a food depending on how it looks. Great lighting will bring out the natural colors. If it’s something that we’re used to and the colors don’t look like what we’ve previously experienced, it doesn’t look right. You would not want to have a hot dog that is blue. You have these preconceived notions that a hot dog should be red.

Almond Flour Pancakes. Photo: Adam Goldberg

7
$ 0.00
Avatar for Sajib2
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I subscriber your id now you suboscribe my id

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi guys new user here, please react to my article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amazing recipe and nicely described 😊☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Fantastic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wonderful present my dear brother , carry on. I always support your article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks and welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wowww great capture bro I just sub to you just now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pls support me back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Already done

$ 0.00
3 years ago