The joy that is found among friends cannot be found anywhere.

9 23

When I grew up, I left home wearing rose-coloured glasses, naively believing that people wanted to make the world a better place, and therefore that everyone worked hard at friendships and relationships.

Boy! Was I in for a shock when I found out the truth about the world! While I hate to say it, I think my parents did me a great disservice by not preparing me properly.

It took me several years and much heart-ache before I finally figured out:

not every friend is trustworthy;

not every friend is worthy of our deeper friendship or love;

friends will sometimes let us down;

good friends don’t criticise unless it’s really warranted or if we’ve done something wrong or if we need to correct a behaviour;

true friends will stick by us no matter what;

good friends will make the effort to work at our relationship; and

I sometimes don’t act as a good friend should.

That last one was particularly hard to accept, because I always thought I was a good person and a good friend, but there was at least one incident when I acted poorly in response to bad behaviour from someone that I had trusted as a friend.

10
$ 0.00

Comments

πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do believe that friendships last forever. Having someone like a friend really helps you a lot like making you smile and being there with you all the time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Friend all time support forever dude

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes yes that's why I do really treasure my friends a lot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are rights

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes dear,friend is the best of all solutions

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really friends for ever

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great

$ 0.00
3 years ago