The black heart of the one you know: Part 3

0 11
Avatar for Sadaf.Alinia
1 month ago

Nathan woke up with his heart pounding and panting. He stood up and stayed in that position for a few moments. Then he got up from his bed and left his room.

As he passed by the monks and nuns, he smiled at them and said good morning to them cheerfully, but when they saw him, their eyes widened and their mouths remained open. Nathan thought to himself, why are they so frightened when they see me?

- Nun, can I talk to you for a moment?

The nun whom he had called, turned her face and like the others, she was shocked to see him.

- Oh, of course! You must be Mr. Nathan Coven, that lucky person who won the lottery and now lives in this castle.

- Please call me Nathan.

- Sure, you can also call me Rosalie.

- Rosalie, is there anything wrong with me? Why are others shocked to see me?

- Well, you know, your face is exactly like a monk who was executed five years ago in one of the very rooms of the castle.

Nathan turned pale.

- Execution?... But why?!

- He had committed many sins, so much that he could no longer be forgiven and only death could cleanse his soul.

- Can you tell me what sins?

- No, no, no one is allowed to talk about him. This is forbidden... I have to go now, Nathan. Nice to meet you. I hope you have a good time in this castle.

Rosalie said this and left immediately, leaving Nathan alone with a stunned face. Nathan thought to himself:

- Why is it forbidden to talk about that monk?... Damn, this matter distracted me and I forgot to ask Rosalie about that creature locked in the basement. No matter. I better find Petrus and ask him.

He climbed the stairs and reached Petrus' room. The door of the room was slightly open and the sound of crying could be heard from it. Nathan looked through the door and saw Petrus kneeling on the floor of the room, with his hands folded and crying.

- My Lord, forgive my mistakes. Help me not to sin...

Nathan thought to himself that it would be better not to bother Petrus now and talk to him later. But as soon as he wanted to leave that place, Petrus called him.

- Nathan, is that you? please come inside.

Nathan entered the room with an embarrased expression.

- I'm sorry, I didn't mean to...

Petrus got up and smiled kindly.

- No matter. I have to tell you that I was not in a good mood, but seeing you I feel much better.

- I'm glad to hear that. What upset you?

Petrus sat on the edge of his bed and motioned for Nathan to sit next to him.

- An old painful memory. You know, I always tell myself that time will take away the impact of the terrible thing that happened in the past, but after five years, the pain is still fresh.

- Petrus, the incident you are talking about is the execution of that monk?

Petrus got shocked.

- Do you know about it?

- Today, one of the nuns told me about this matter.

Petrus said angrily:

- What uneducable souls these nuns and monks of the castle have. I have emphasized many times that they should not talk about this issue.

- Don't be angry, Petrus. It was actually kind of my fault. I asked her a question and she told me about the case of that execution.

- What question did you ask her?

- Well, when I was walking in the castle, all the monks and nuns looked at me with a shocked expression. So, I asked one of them about the matter and she told me that the reason for the others' fear is that my face is like that of the executed monk.

Petrus sighed, his lips quivered and tears welled up in his eyes.

- Yes, yes, you are exactly like him, like Levi. I was also shocked when I first saw you from a distance. Then I thought to myself and realized that this is an opportunity that God has given me. I couldn't help Levi, I couldn't save his soul, but now I'll do whatever I can for you, my dear Nathan, I watch over your soul.

As he was crying, Petrus took Nathan's hands in his and stared into Nathan's emerald eyes with his wet blue eyes.

Nathan, who was tormented and didn't know what to say, just looked at Petrus and bit his lips.

A few moments later he remembered the case of the creature imprisoned in the basement and was glad that he could change the subject by asking about it.

- Petrus, what is that creature imprisoned in the basement?

To be continued...

You can read the next chapters on Wattpad.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Sadaf.Alinia
1 month ago

Comments