Silang Kinalimutan Documentary (Reflection)

0 289
Avatar for Rubibi0105
3 years ago

Silang kinalimutan is the first documentary of Atom Araullo in I-Witness that was aired in GMA Network. It talks about the life of the Rohingya refugees who are being abused by the militaries in Myanmar as a form of ethnic cleansing, so that they decided to move to their neighboring country which is Bangladesh. The Rohingya refugees are considered as the largest stateless community as the Myanmar's government denied their citizenship, and Bangladesh considered them as immigrants. Since, they are stateless, they are more vulnerable to any kind of abuse and agony because they are not being protected legally by a government.

Upon watching this documentary, there are many things to be thankful for. If we have food to eat, clothes to wear, a shelter to rest, and our family with us, there's nothing to complain for. I realized how lucky I am to live in comfort, and just worrying about simple things. I feel bad for those refugees who feel nothing but fear and agony throughout their lives. They are being abused and some them were killed even though they did nothing wrong. I can see in their eyes how miserable their lives are and begging for happiness and peace.

I wonder how those children live normally like a normal kids. With that situation, I'm doubting if they are still enjoying their childhood days. I remember when I was a kid I am just thinking about my toys and my friends to play with. But, upon seeing the kids here as refugees, it brought me to tears looking at them starving, and seem helpless in life. The innocence in their eyes shows how sad they are, because they don't have enough food to eat and a decent place to stay in.

I can also feel the sadness in the eye of their parents because they can't provide the needs of their family. All of them are begging for help and belongingness.

With this chaotic situation, I am happy that there are still good people who are always there to help someone regardless of race. I salute those Filipinos who are donating goods to the refugees and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) who are giving assistance and protection to them. I salute the Bangladesh also especially their militaries and officials who accept them as immigrants even though their country is not that big.

After watching this world-class documentary, I realized how blessed I am to live with foods served on our table, a decent place to live, and a family that take care of me. I can also reach out for things I need and I want. Unlike those refugees, who can't provide their daily needs and no longer thinks about their wants. I should be thankful with everything I have now in my life because we don't know some people are wishing to be in our situation and to have a life like us. To live in a quiet place, far from chaos.

I wish those Rohingya refugees will find a place that will fully accept them as a citizens that will provide them love and protection. I wish I could also help them soon with my very best.

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for Rubibi0105
3 years ago

Comments