Today's education is just giving students headaches, not knowledge.

1 18
Avatar for Rrein
Written by
3 years ago

Ever since the pandemic, Covid-19, have taken over the world, a lot of things have changed. We can't freely walk outside our houses without face masks on, distance learning is being implemented, accommodating prices of products rose up and many people lost their jobs resulting in a lack of financial shape.

I miss the old days where I will wake up early in the morning because my class starts at 6 o'clock in the morning. I will go to school earlier than usual because I have an assignment that I didn't answer on our home or I have quizzes or tests to take that day. Oh! How I miss to chit chat with my classmates face to face. How I miss to listen to our teacher. How sleepy I was when my teacher's voice is so soft as if it was a lullaby that forcing you to close your eyes and sleep. The food in the canteen, group activities, school programs and such. Argghh! I miss all of that.

Okay, back to the main topic of this article. Sorry, I was carried away. As for the implementation of distance learning, on my own perspective, it's ineffective. Anyways, I'm taking modular this school year.

My struggles in answering my module
1. The information and references given in the module are not enough.
If you take modular as a mode of learning, it means that you need to study by yourself. In fact, I learned most of the topics we have, by watching some educational videos on YouTube. One of my classmates is just copying answer from me. He can't understand the topic 'cause the module given to us, lacks information. How will students who have no money to buy load be able to answer the module, right? Students who have a poor internet connection in their area? I took modular so that I'll be able to study without using internet 'cause we have a poor internet connection at home, but I need it in able to cope up with the lesson. I have to travel from our house to my cousin's 'cause they have wifi there and the signal is good. Also, there are links on the module that we need to search on the internet. Again, I took modular so that I don't need to use the internet, but it turns out that I need to.

2. The time alloted in answering module is not enough.
Module distribution and retrieval is every Monday. I have 8 subjects with me which are; English, Science, Math, Edukasyon Sa Pagpapakatao (Values), Economics, MAPEH, Research and Filipino. Oh! They have additional subject which is Homeroom Guidance. I use to stay up all night in able to comply the given requirements. It's frustrating and tiring. There's this time that my tears will suddenly flow from my eyes because I can't understand the topic, fearing that I might not comply the requirements in time. There's no doubt why some students face anxiety and depression this year on my country. It's even harder if each subject has a lot of activities. In my case, there's so many activities and performances in my MAPEH subject. I don't know if you have that subject in your country, but "M" stands for music, "A" stands for arts "P.E." stands for physical education and "H" stands for health. Seriously, one-third of the requirements I need to pass is from this subject. We're just given a week to pass the module of each component. Not to mention that its allotted time inscribed in our schedule is only two hours. This subject's requirements includes, video of ourselves singing our music composition, making improvised instruments, making obra maestras, powerpoint presentations, etc. The given deadline is slowly killing me. Today's education is just giving students headaches, not knowledge. In my own opinion, if they can't extend the deadline, then just lessen the activities or the subjects we need to take!

3. Time management
I invest most of my time answering my modules. Sometimes, I can't do all the house chores. I also attend training sessions on my sport every weekend, which takes half day. I'm not here to brag, but I'm a consistent honor student since elementary. I'm on my 9th grade now. I suddenly remember myself crying for getting an 85 on my card last grading. I'm kinda disappointed and frustrated that day. I'm being careful not to have lower than 85 average even in one subject 'cause I'm planning to apply for scholarship in the future. I'm more focused on that subject than others that's why. I'm even confident in my answers back then because I invest a lot of time in that subject. I took it seriously, but arghhh! Cut it! I don't want any dramas haha.

Writing this got me thinkin'. How they doin'? Are they still okay?  What about their health, is it fine?  I hope they are not stressing themselves already. Even though we're close to giving up, we must remember our dreams, our plans for our family. We must fight our problems. We must not let that turn us down.


(This article is based on my experience and perspective. Anyways, I'm from The Pearl of the Orient Seas, Philippines. Thank you for reading :))

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for Rrein
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Wow

$ 0.00
3 years ago