Recognition of Usability

7 39
Avatar for RowanSkie
3 years ago

This is a piece for me to express my feelings for this bull run.


Bitcoin Cash has proven itself to be a remarkable piece of technology, using innovations from its whole lifespan as part of the Bitcoin blockchain on itself. With constant innovations back in 2009-2013, Bitcoin on itself was going to become a way to transact without a middleman, as Satoshi intended. The middlemen took notice, and thus the era of 2013-2017 where Bitcoin was slowly getting crippled yet it was getting very high mainstream attention.

Back in July of 2017 was my original entry point. It was the tip of the iceberg, and I was trying out mining with my GPU (very inefficient) and using faucets (stupidly slow and inefficient).

I should've stayed and kept those satoshis because in the same year as August arrived came Bitcoin Cash.

And then came November 2019, and I was trying to find a way to get a mobile wallet. Here in the Philippines, two large mobile wallets take control of the market: GCash (not the same one you know), and PayMaya. Both of them have their own perks and abilities yet I chose something different, and that was Coins. Coins, styled as Coins.ph, was a mobile wallet that is effectively the first mobile wallet approved by the Philippines' central bank to manage cryptocurrency in the country.

I was intrigued, not by that prospect, but by the fact that I can use my PWD card to verify my account. During those days pre-COVID I was using it for my own medicine and it has now run out. I'm fine now, thank you. It was depression. Don't ask.

Back to the main topic, I went and fiddled around. Learning about the scaling debate that happened right underneath my nose and the subsequent $100 fees back in December 2017 was something of a shock to me.

But that didn't matter, I can now exchange PHP with BTC, ETH, and this new larger BTC called BCH! And XRP, but that one decided to need to make me pay it 10 XRP.

It was a silent time, really, shuffling around some small cents, but then I had started using Coins for me to pay games in Steam so it was a nice bonus.

Then COVID-19 hit and the stocks plummet. A definite buy signal and I went to try BCH.

In hindsight, I can definitely see this act as my 2017 self saying this is what I wanted for, because of that Matrix image. You know, that one that has been remade for Bitcoin Cash.

And it was a start. A very small start, but it was a start nonetheless.

A few weeks later, I spotted a Reddit post that led me to this site, and honest.cash. Kinda sad that honest.cash is gone, but read.cash managed to bypass that with the distributed fund.

Oh, and how distributed it really was. It wasn't at all. Spammers came and decided to make copy-pastes of articles. I actually followed one that reposted those daily zodiac readings, but he disappeared.

Read.cash's team really did their job well, because this was the moment I started to mingle with the Bitcoin Cash members, stating my own opinions and telling things that were statistically true and has historical evidence. Funnily enough, it was during that time that I learned Roger Ver actually joined post-Segwit2x, which was the last bit of news I had on the topic before I eventually returned in 2019. Fun.

But 2020 had a problem, and that was both the May 2020 and November 2020, the whole network was against an idea Bitcoin ABC wanted to implement: The Infrastructure Funding Plan.

I'll not go into details, but the idea of an IFP is good, it's just the implementation is stupid. Very stupid since it was implemented in a community where open-source is more trusted, and (sometimes) the code is the law. And the code for November 2020's ABC node was just "pay 8% or block is orphaned" and ABC wasn't even the majority node despite being used for most of the services.

This had a good side effect though. Development was at an all-time high, however. We had BCHN, which started to improve ABC by starting to remove the IFP. Then CashFusion arrived, which was slow at first, but when you let it sit in the background, you'll soon see that you can't even physically trace which coin was from which transaction. Services like Keys4Coins and even this site started to bloom. SLP Tokens arrived at the scene, and I was able to join in on the miners who mined MIST, the first mineable SLP token which used a work-in-progress smart contract script called Spedn. Flipstarters started rolling, and it's all on community sentiment, making ABC lose theirs.

There was also something historical happening at the same time, and it's the Halving of all Bitcoin-related forks that are still alive because people are making money trading off them (Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash, Bitcoin SV). I was at the side of the bull run not happening, but that's because I was not informed well that time.

It was a weird and funny time, those days, but as the new year approached, Noise.cash and Detoken.net was born.

Detoken.net was something to behold. A decentralized way to do what made other people rich through exchanges! Hedges are synonymous with 1x Short, and I understood why they named it that way. With a Hedge via Detoken (through AnyHedge), you are effectively hedging in your money to be on this specific amount of dollars, BCH be damned. Longs are still the same process, but that one based upon rising prices, and Detoken actually has a problem paying people because of the bull run.

Noise.cash was something different. A little new website that looks and feels like Twitter, but you can tip posts in BCH with free tips given by @MarcDeMesel. So, yes, I immediately started to recognize some of the Read.cash spammers which were a little concerning, but then after a quick sleep, I saw the news. Transaction count rising due to both of these sites. Blocks are now getting to half a megabyte more often. Very large and sexy transactions due to CashFusion, Detoken contracts, and Noise.cash "tip for tip" scams.

This brings us to today. Bitcoin Cash is useable. Not as an asset that will make you millions. Because Bitcoin Cash is the Bitcoin I learned in the news, and I can already see that I won't have to make millions because Bitcoin Cash, even having gains and losses, already makes me part of something worth a million.

And this isn't just me. There's a lot of people slowly coming to realize how great Bitcoin Cash is, even if it's through malicious means to this site and Noise. @Read.Cash's original plan is to scare BCH through making articles, and now they've moved on to creating wonderful things for the future, such as Mainnet and Noise.cash.

And now... here we are. The Bitcoin Bull Run is now leaking over to our little unwanted fork, and it's making people look even harder than BTC because we are doing what BTC used to do and better. We have growing technology similar to Ethereum's. We have scaling technology ready at our command, only requiring a few tweaks. 0-confirmation is now becoming the most secure thing with 0-conf proofs. There is now a recorded proof of 255MB blocks running on Raspberry Pis.

The world has caught up with Bitcoin, and now Bitcoin Cash is catching up with the world. Bitcoin wants to be digital gold without any real usage, and that will backfire when the investors notice how unusable it really was. After all, these investors are the same types of people that went and sued CD Projekt Red due to the failed launch of Cyberpunk 2077.

Welcome to 2021, everyone, and with Bitcoin Cash at hand, we'll be able to handle the oncoming storm.

As always, this is Rowan.

Signing off.

12
$ 10.12
$ 10.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of RowanSkie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for RowanSkie
3 years ago

Comments

Subscribed... Gotty King on noise.cash

You are quite interesting my dear, might even Mary you if you will 🤑😅🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why are you PWD? I mean sorry for the question, you can refuse not to answer. I had a great read. I always admired your knowledge when it comes to BCH tech, especially when you argue with commenters in Cain's article about BCHA 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, it's in the same paragraph with the mention. Second to the last sentence, in fact.

Anyway, yeah, I sometimes like to read what I'm getting into, and sometimes there's even news of things when it happens. It's all on the documentation we have right now, plus the fact that some parts of the ABC claim have been negated by the development outside ABC's workplace. It's kinda funny that this year is the same year that most of them started development like we're just being stopped by ABC.

Plus sometimes you know when someone is desperate when they try to deflect the question, haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great read. Been trying to learn more about bitcoin cash but those centralized search engines keeps giving me what I already know. Can i save this one? Some of the words written here are interesting and I need to find out what are those amd maybe I can find out more about BCH

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure. You can ask me what the terms you need to know, of course! I don't mind.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay! I will asked once I've encountered some terms or problems regarding BCH in the future. Thank you! 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have noise.cash actually for that: https://noise.cash/u/RowanSkie

$ 0.00
3 years ago