A Middle-Aged Hitchhiker

0 115
Avatar for RosieGrrl
2 years ago

On the highway, I saw a middle-aged Hitchhiker standing on the highway, holding a handwritten poster of "I want a lift," shivering from the cold. It was raining heavily.  I reluctantly stopped the car and sat him down.

  As soon as I started talking to him, I became convinced that he was well educated.  It was also estimated that he had a disease, which caused him to forget what he was talking about.  But on the other hand his memory was so good that while speaking he was quoting paragraphs written by different scholars according to the relevance of the subject.

   First let me tell you what Hitchhikers are, then let's get to the real thing.  Hitchhikers are homeless.  Do not spend more than one day in a city and always travel by elevator. The city where the elevator is found is their destination for the next 24 hours.  They eat at government centers for the homeless in every city, bathe and wash their clothes and go to sleep, get up in the morning and start traveling again.  Most of them get a small allowance from the government which they use for their additional needs.  Hutch Hacker, who took the elevator from me, told me that he had been reading and recording books for blind students at a university for thirteen years.  But due to the progression of amnesia, he retired early and decided to become a hitchhiker instead of going to an old home.

Hitchhiker

      When I asked him, he told me that he used to record three books in a week.  Even though he did not tell about his work, every sentence he uttered proved that he was a reader of thousands of books.  During the four-hour journey, he spoke on a wide range of topics, including world religions, the universe, culture, and the purpose of life.  Although after a few minutes of talking on a topic he would forget what the topic was and at the same time a new topic would start, but no matter how much he talked about it, his knowledge and reasoning style Became jealous.

        In one breath he would quote a Greek philosopher as an argument for something he said, in another he would quote a Muslim scholar, and in a third he would quote an early Hindu philosopher and he would forget what topic he was talking about. I would like to share with you a few of the many things that happen with it. As he spoke, he suddenly said, "Do you know why you passed by this road where I was standing?"

London

I said: "Because I had to go to London. "

            "Yes, he had to go to you."  He began to say, "But you went through that special time because nature had a test for you there. Even if you failed that test, I would still get a lift. Because nature has many alternatives at the same time."  "But the next test after that failure was to find it difficult. The more opportunities you have to prove yourself useful to humanity, the harder it will be to be useful."

             He went on speaking.  He added that I had come and stood on this road fifteen minutes ago and several vehicles passed by before you.  My job is to wait, to arrange my trip is a job of nature, not of people.  I am saddened by the failure of those who do not take every question of the exam seriously on the basis of equality.  No one remembers that life is just a test and step by step tests of nature are placed.

 A Sufi gypsy

  I was looking at him in amazement, when he forgot to talk and started thinking something.  Seeing him confused, I asked him to change the topic: maybe you are not even fifty now, you are so educated, then why are you walking on the streets?  You can get a good job despite your illness.  Her face showed that she did not expect this stupid question from me.  He said, "Look, I get nine hundred dollars a month from the government, which is not begging, it is an early retirement pension."  If you think about it, you will know that with this money I can easily live comfortably in a retirement home, but then I will not be able to attract God nor will I be able to see God myself.

   I asked, "How do you see God and draw him to you?" He said that I see him step by step in his examination and arrangement for myself and others and I attract Him by helping the needy. I wondered if someone who was homeless and needed a lift to travel would help.  But I asked to continue the conversation, you no longer have any expenses, then what do you do with the pension, which you get? He said, "Do charity."  At the same time, he took out of his pocket a donation agreement with a charity called Plan Canada and showed it to me.

       According to the agreements and receipts, he was the foster father of three orphaned girls in Africa and paid a monthly plan of 730 to Canada for their education and hostel expenses.  Due to his illness, he had arranged for the money to be withdrawn from his account every month.  I returned his papers to him and asked, "Since when have you been doing this?"  By then he had forgotten the whole thing.  He asked, "Since when have I been doing this?"

          I asked changing questions we were talking about the purpose of life.  Tell me, what is the test of this life? After thinking for a moment, he said that only when God raises us again will real life begin and that in this life we ​​will have privileges based on how useful we were to human beings in this worldly life and that is the essence of this life itself.  Is a test to be useful to human beings and to be grateful.  I said, man, you are so intelligent, you should also study the Qur'an. In response, he recited an English translation of a large verse of Surah Noor about God in such a way that my eyes got wet.  At the same time, he took out an old copy of the Qur'an from his bag and showed it to me. I told him that I had a new copy of the Qur'an, so take it and give it to me.

Holy Qur'an

He said no, I have written my notes here and there. I stopped the car at a coffee shop and went to get breakfast for both of them.  When he came back a while later, he was cleaning my car, it was shining from the inside out, and he was pouring the bonnet open screen cleaner washer liquid into his special tank.  I asked, "Where did you get it from?"  He pointed to the gas station in front and said, "I took it from there. The tank with the washer liquid in your car was empty. This tank must be full this season." I wanted to pay for Washer Liquid, but he refused, saying that the breakfast you had brought for me was cheaper. I couldn't write even five percent of the conversations that took place with him.  He got out of my car in London, but I probably won't forget this man for a long time.  When I returned, I mentioned it to my friends in the name of the Sufi Hitchhiker. 

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for RosieGrrl
2 years ago

Comments