Four years with a Monkey

2 16
Avatar for Roshni
Written by
1 year ago


Sometimes when I look at Banda,it feels weird to have him as a pet. Banda is my Pet, he is a Monkey. And he is four years old now.

Anytime I tell people that I have a monkey as pet, they are always surprised. Like, who the hell keeps a monkey as pet.


But, trust me, it's been four wonderful years with Banda. The first day he was brought home, he was so tiny without hairs.


I think he was just some weeks old. He was captured right with his mother. The mother was shot, and he was scared, could not run, but held on to the mother. That was how he was caught.

He is lucky to be in our house. Close to two weeks in the midst of human, in a strange place, every day, he Continued to cry for his mother.


His screams was so high and can Pierce even the hardest soul. He was till tiny, and still unable to eat. We had to buy milk and feed him.


It got to a point, I told my father to return him.... hilarious, cause the way he screams always saddens my heart. After some weeks, he got used to his new environment.

One thing he loved doing then, was sitting on my head and strapping himself to my chest, like I was the mother. He became my best friend. And, he loved playing a lot.


He is a friendly animal. I have both good and bad memories with him. The days of playful and wicked bites, the days of modelling.....ha ha. Yes, he acts like a model, especially, when I want to snap him. He'll pose like a trained model, while I take the shot.


He loves eating a lot. And his favourite meal(s), so far, is noodles and Yam. He loves Banana and groundnut. He eats almost everything. The only thing he doesn't eat is cockroach.


Now, he is four years old, and already showing traits of the wild. I'm no more his best friend, we fight frequently now. So, any chance he gets, he bites me. And he's got very sharp set of teeth.


He's got very flexible body, too. He twists his body, just like an acrobat. The way he wiggles his body, always amazes me. He's got a pretty long tail, too.


He acts like human. And, he's always ready to fight. Also, he protects me from guys.

Any guy that visits my house, dare not touch me in front of Banda. He is going to bite him


One afternoon, our pastor's son came to visit, and he tried to hold my hand, Banda just hold his leg and tried to bite him. Next thing he did, was funny.

Banda, held my hand like a child he is protecting from danger.


I've been living with this creature for four years and every single day with him, is filled with joy.

You can't be anywhere around Banda and be sad.


Image source: Taken by me. Banda is my pet.

3
$ 0.62
$ 0.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @emily2u
Avatar for Roshni
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Oh dear, while I can imagine getting close to a monkey and vice versa, there is no denying that wild animals have that wild side to their character and can bite/harm their owner at the slightest "provocation". Tacke care.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right. He changes totally, whenever he is pissed. I'm trying to be careful around him,now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago