The Disastrous Sequel It Gave ME

17 25
Avatar for RosheiGanda
2 years ago

I know almost everyone of us are feeling or had already felt the impact of this Covid. Some started having their grave difficulties in 2019. But maybe for some, they benefitted from it.

Let me talk about how I started with my work until now. Good and side effects of Covid.

How I Started with My Work

After graduating from college and passing the board, I applied in an ESL online company that teaches Chinese Students. The first time I applied was in thier office (Office-Based). That was the first time in my life I had a job interview. Haha. We were taught in college before on what to do during a job interview. While the madam was interviewing me, I didn't notice that I was swaying on the chair I was seated. Her eyes were following my movements. Nervousness got me that time. Those random questions she asked, I can no longer remember how I responded. Haha. In short, I was not accepted.

That same day, my colleagues from college contacted me. We went to the Center-Based of that company. Submitted our resumes, I.D.s, and did our interviews including the online orientations. After so many struggles, I got accepted finally. That was the first job I had. I was overwhelmed with happiness, and even told my family about it. They congratulated me.

First Day At Work

I got launched after getting accepted and started my job last 2018. Went to the center alone with friends that afternoon. I felt that, I was alone and no one was there to help me. How should I start? Should I just teach? Bla bla bla. Troubled mind I had, I called our elders. "Please, how should I do this and that?", I asked. Huhu. Then he calmly helped me.

I had adult students on my first day. My hands shivered in fear, but, I composed myself. I sat erect, looked confident in front of the camera. Then did my very first class. So my first day at work was a success and I was even fully booked that time. Whew.

The Flow of my Work

We were given the chance to stay in the center for one month, without paying any expenses. But, I extended for another month. I paid more than fifty pesos everytime I work there everyday. Got comfortable with my colleagues at work too since they were my classmates in college.

We used to have schedules there. Afternoon and evening time. We had limited equipment so we needed to take turns. I would ride in two jeepneys just to be there.

With my afternoon classes, I would go home early in the evening riding in a jeepney. But if it's evening to night time, then, I take a taxi. The start was so hard since I had spent too much with my travelling expenses. My boyfriend that time, who is now my hubby, helped me financially. So yeah, with his help, and my family's help, atleast I didn't have trouble with money.

Those days were hard for me. Imagine, I would ride a taxi alone at midnight and would walk on the alleys going home. Thanks God, He protected me. No one harmed me.

And on December 2019, I was able to work Home-Based. I took a loan to invest on my equipment like laptop, lampshade, external camera, mouse paraphernalia, and instructional materials. And borrowed from my family. Thank God, I finished paying them on December 2020.

First Covid News

Wuhan China, first had its corona virus case in 2019. It didn't bother me though. But one of my regular students who stayed with me up until now, was from that place. Just that, he never booked any classes for the whole month of January 2020, but rebooked at February 2020 until now.

At first, I thought that the Covid would just stay there in China. But due to people travelling to countries, or returning to their countries, it spread too fast. The center of our country got affected too. Countless lockdowns were implemented. ECQ, MECQ, GCQ and so on.

How I Benefitted from the Pandemic

Although some people don't believe that pandemic exist, let me still talk about how I benefitted from it.

Since China didn't let their people go to school nor work outside, they had to stay at home. They had no choice.

From then on, many students were booking my lessons online. I was almost fully-booked everyday. Online companies teaching English classes were flooded with students. So they had the urgency to hire more teachers.

I even started to save up my money in my bank. Every month, I had a specific amount to save. I became strict to myself by lessening my expenses. Which I really did. I'm so thankful that I made that happen.

So this was how Covid helped me crawl up from the bottom.

The New Policy was Implemented

Our company had started notifying us about the double reduction pay since June 2021. Returning online teachers and new teachers, were currently experiencing it now. So glad that after returning from my one month vacation, they did not lessen my salary.

I'm feeling the effect right now. Our salaries will be delayed due to the seven days, holidays in China. I can't do the plans I settled. Whew.

Online students can no longer book us during weekends and holidays, including vacations like summer and winter. I experienced the impact on September 16-31. Huhu. I have less salary now. Like 60% of it was taken out. Few students, few income. Huhu.

What To Do?

It's high time for a plan B to Z. Looking for other jobs online or in our area.

I already planned to resign from work by January, next year. Which is going back to the city and applying there as a public teacher. That's plan B.

While I'm here in the city continuing with my online work, I should stay active in noise cash and read cash. It's for me to have additional income. I'm really thankful to have these two platforms. Huhu. Thank you so much. At first, I thought, I will just be writing for fun without caring much about the BCH money, but here I am, doing my best to earn more in these two platforms. Thank you again.

Ending Words

Let's pray that sooner or later everything will fall into place. Having plan A to Z is really important if we want to live a better life. Let's not stop and never give up. While we're still here living on Earth, life must go on.

What impact did you have from this Covid Pandemic? Let me know in your comments below.

Thank you again for reading my simple article. God bless us! ☺️

3
$ 2.37
$ 2.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.04 from @Sweetiepie
+ 2
Sponsors of RosheiGanda
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for RosheiGanda
2 years ago

Comments

Ang hirap na pong makahanap ng work ngayon buti po may trabaho po kayo ngayong pandemic..at buti nalang din po may noise at read kahit papano nakakaiponng konti hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Opo. Laking pasasalamat na din po sa Maykapal sa biyayang binibigay niya araw araw.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having online classes is the most struggle situation for me due to pandemic, although it's been two years but still hard. Sounds interesting din work mo Sis, ano subj. tinuturo English ba?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe. Try it sis. You'll be great in teaching students. Yes po, basic English halos natuturo sa mga kids. But now, nag change new policy sila, no more kids siguro in the future. Magiging adults na lng. Which is enjoyable to talk with Chinese adults during class, dibale na ung mga super rude. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So nice sis, that you still work online despite the challenges. And right, holiday nila ngayon. Mahilig sila sa long holidays which is also great when one is working in their country :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True sis. Kahit half or 1/4 na lang sasahurin, lumalaban pa din. But for young students, it's time for them to do piles of homework at home from their school. Haha. Goodnight. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halla, bakit naman 1/4 lang hehe. Tuloy lang ang grind sis :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sissy Chinese students tinuturuan mo pala? Internationally wow ang galing sissy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe. Opo sis. Almost three years na ako sa company this October ngayong taon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations sissy, mean marunong kana mgchinese nian

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. No sis. Ewan ko, wala akong hilig sa pag aaral ng mga lengwahe. Gustuhin ko man pero di nagsstay sa utak ko mga words. Ito lang alam ko: Ni hao ma? Wanshanghao Ni shima mingzi Watchetala And others. Limited lng sis. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha bahala ka jan sissy wala akong alam haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Hayaan mo na sis. Sasakit lng ulo natin sa kakaisip. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha pasaway sissy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of the things I learnt because of the covid 19 pandemic was how to play chess. I’d spent a lot of time playing online.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh wow nice. You discovered a new leisure game. I love chess as well. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great!! I play an average of 10 games everyday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago