The "Anitos"

6 25
Avatar for RosheiGanda
2 years ago

Do you believe in ghosts or mythical creatures? I know, we tried not to believe on them. Or we say, they're not real. It always depend on our beliefs. As for me who's a scaredy cat, I believe on them. Haha.

Uhmmm, I don't know where the word "anito" originally came from. But let me just tell you some simple things about it. The singular noun is "anito", while the plural noun is "anitos".

Our elders or friends would scare us saying, "look out, there are ghosts." And we could feel the eerie feelings... We freeze and would believe that there really are ghosts. We can't think clearly.

I was a victim of people using ghosts to scare me. We have these terms in our native language like: "puwakang", "tur-ek", "anito", "angtan", "maniye-deyeng", etc. I wrote etc because I forgot the other terms. We all have our own terms in our own native languages to call the mythical creatures.

This morning, I asked the names of the "anitos" from my mom and older sister. My sister said that she saw a woman with a red hair while she was peeing. Her eyes was fixated to it when suddenly, it disappeared. So now, she prefers to close her eyes when she's out doing her personal necessities.

My eldest sister also told me a story. One time, she saw a hand of an old woman in our old house before. The old hand seemed like she was about to give something. I got scared from her story.

We all have our versions of seeing some mythical creatures. But some would say, that was not true, some say it's true, and others say, it's just our own imagination.ls. In the end, we call them as mythical creatures because they're not proven to be true but are just seen personally by our naked eyes...

Beliefs (From my partner)

Our ancestors believe in ghosts or "anitos". There are good anitos and bad anitos.

There are stories I've heard that during the ancient times, good anitos used to help our ancestors' tribe, that were attacked by other tribes in times of tribal wars.

What about bad anitos?

Few days ago, a girl was announced missing. All of the four baranggays helped in searching the young girl. She was announced to be missing in our baranggay in the evening. She was lost in the afternoon that same day.

After 24 hours of searching, fortunately she was found trembling, with a cane helping herself to walk caused by hunger and cold strong rainy weather. As she recovered, they asked her. She told them that she saw an old lady (the bad anito) which the girl alone saw calling her and followed it. The young girl was following her mom while hiking on their baranggay to join the reunion, when suddenly that old woman (believed to be the bad anito), caught her attention. They came from the city by the way. You might be wondering why she was lost. She did not grow up from that baranggay so she was not familiar with the pathways.

Elders say that sometimes, this happens when a person disrespect the anitos by just urinating or defecate anywhere.

Other bad anitos also will touch or talk to you causing you to be in pain, or ill/sick.

The seer advises the person what to do in order to recover from the pain caused by the bad anitos.

These seer's beliefs are practiced until now not just in our tribe but also in other municipalities, or should I say, globally? Hmmm. Not sure thought.

Talking to My Aunt.

Yesterday, I got the chance to speak with my aunt. They arrived here in the province few days ago.

I found out that her mother was the one who found the young lady. She told me about the story of that lost girl. The story I heard from others were real then. Confirmed!

All the people from that baranggay helped in searching her. Let me include my baranggay mates too. As announced, the young lady was wearing that specific outfit. It was rainy so she changed her clothes. And then covered her head with the hood so she won't get wet from the rain.

With that, the people who were looking for her didn't recognize her. From her story, she was staring at those people who were walking here and there, left and right. She was curious, and almost followed them, but, someone was like not allowing her to go with them. That's why, the search was extended for more than 24 hours.

Additionally, that young lady was also depressed. She did not pass the board exam. That's what I heard from my aunt. Let me say, a rumour? Hmmm.

What's important was, she was found unscathed, thankfully.

The reunion they had did not happen the way they thought it should be. Instead, they butchered one cow and one pig to feed those people who helped in searching her. Whew. Quite expensive huh.

Ending Thoughts.

Honestly, until now, I'm scared to go out at night when it's too dark. I have strong imaginations too. πŸ˜… I don't like hearing stories nor reading scary stories about ghosts, nor watching them... Sorry, but I have to skip articles like that. πŸ˜… Now you know. Hihi.

Thanks for reaching this far. It means, you have read my article. Did you enjoy it? I hope so. ☺️

Let me thank my sponsors by the way. I might not be that active in interacting with you, but, I'm silently reading your articles. I just don't have the budget to share with you. Please bare with me. I have no real job to depend onto, that's why, I consider blogging as my main work for now.

Sponsors of RosheiGanda
empty
empty
empty

Thanks! 😊

6
$ 2.30
$ 2.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 2
Sponsors of RosheiGanda
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for RosheiGanda
2 years ago

Comments

This reminds me of a story I heard during my mom-in-law's wake. They have been looking for a person for 4 days and they found him at a creek, his feet soaked in the water, leech sucking his blood. The story went that he didn't even know why he was in that place so people believed an anito might have taken him there!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, this scared me too. We also have many stories here. But I don't want to hear them again. Or else, I will be very scared again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my hometown we believe in engcanto's. Just like your story that the girl is missing because of an old woman. In my hometown engcanto's approach a beautiful teenager they will copy a handsome face to attract their target.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe I am a Vampire :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hihi. Why do you say so po?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feeling ko lang, sis. Di kasi ako natutulog hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago