Few Cents Count

8 18
Avatar for RosheiGanda
2 years ago

Let me start with greeting you all dear readers and writers. And of course, including upvoters and likers. Special mention to our beloved Rusty. ☺️ Let's have a wonderful day today.

Here's another article to read involving money. I've read someone's article yesterday and this morning and helped me to come up with my own idea and here it is.

Everyday, upon waking, I would think of many stuffs to write here and there. So before that, I have to read your interesting articles to come up with one. And yeah, I was right, it really helps. Especially if you have a cup of hot coffee beside you. Sip sip sip, and ideas keeps on pouring. Then, hit the publish button. Hehe.

Oh my apologies for the long introduction, let me start with it now.

Farming Helped Us

Money money money. I love money! I hate money! Without money, you can't be happy. Oooopsss, this was not applicable for me before. Let me remember how I lived my childhood days.

In our family, we are seven siblings. Six girls and one boy. So to make it a total of nine, I'll include my lovely dad and mom. My parents would budget their salaries every month to satisfy the needs of our family. My dad worked in an office as a messenger and a utility worker while my mom was a teacher. Those days, it was not enough to just earn a living, so thankfully, we have farms that added up to the food that lessened the expenses. Every holidays and weekends, including vacations, we usually go to the farm to remove the weeds and planted crops. Sometimes, it makes me happy, and other times not. I preferred staying at home to do the household chores, and later on, play outside, go to the river and swim. So yeah, in short, farming helped feed our family.

My parents had their early retirements few years ago, but still, they prefer to go farming together. They may be pensioners who supposedly should enjoy spending their money now, but they chose to go to the farm. They still help us, their children financially. We help each other.

In School

From a toddler to reaching highschool, our parents never spoiled us with money. Like giving allowances everyday. If they do that, then we will be short with money in the house. Especially that they would also help our cousins, relatives, grandparents by giving them food before. I don't know how my parents managed to budget their money to us. Hehe.

So yeah, I was never given an allowance in school for leisure. 😅 That led me to get jealous with others who would buy their snacks and lunch from the canteen. Wow! Rick kid! Hihi.

There was one time, I saw my mom gave five pesos to the grandkid of her co-teacher. So, I got jealous and demanded my mom to give me the same amount, and she did. Do you get jealous too when your parents before hand money to other kids before? Let me know you answers down below. Hihi.

Me and my siblings, didn't have the allowance to spend in school, rather, our parents would give us pack lunch generously. Although our parents didn't train us to have money everyday, but they never let us go hungry. Never!

There were times wherein, I would sit and cry for hours, while asking money from my mom. So I would buy some candies or junk foods. She would say, "Okay, get a knife and remove my ears so you go and sell them. I told you several times that we don't have money! Why can't you understand?!" Still, I would cry and focus on begging money. Bad girl I was. Hehe. She won't really give me any penny. Lols. For my dad, I would get scared at him. Haha. Intimidated I was.

That's why, it was okay for me not to have money everyday as long as I play with friends, and sneak away from home and swim in the river 😂. I can still vividly remember this. One time, our dad was making us sleep in the afternoon. I waited for him to doze off. I tiptoed to the kitchen, opened the window silently with the creaking sounds, jumped outside and run as fast as I could. Hahaha. Ninja moves, isn't it? I know, some of you did it as well. Just a different move though, maybe. Haha. Confess it in your comments below. 😂

College

I went somewhere for more than three years before studying in college so, I was delayed. I started my studies in college at the age of twenty. So I enrolled myself in a school that offered trimesters. Glad to graduate at 23. Whew.

I finished my studies in the city. It was no longer practical if I didn't have an allowance. Hehehe. From my fare allowance, projects at school, my foods, etcetera, I needed allowance. Every fifteen days, they sent me money thru my ATM. That feeling when I received my first allowance, I was overjoyed. To make it short, I experienced having an allowance in college only. And I'm so thankful that our parents did not spoil us with money. Or else, I could have been a brat now. Our eldest sister has the best budgetting skills in life. So I wanted to learn from her and be inspired. Hehe.

I used to have friends in college who has bigger allowances than me. Honestly, I never got jealous though. I would say, I was contented of what my parents gave me. They would even give me free snacks. Wow. Unfortunately, one of them died. May she rest in peace. 😔 It was sad to hear the news. Whew.

Whenever I got short with money, I talk to Him, the Almighty and pray. Everyday, I never forget to ask for forgiveness and thank him for the many blessings. And I would be surprised that out of the blue, my elder sisters give me additional allowances. Huhu. Thank you. The magic of prayers. So let's not forget to pray to HIM. ☺️

Ending Words

With those experiences I had in life, I grew up to value money. By not just spending it anywhere or on anything. Thinking about my parents' hardships, would stop me from spending too much, but would budget it everyday.

And now, I would say, from the time I finished college and passed the board, I became independent. Not asking money from my parents anymore. I know, most of you here were independent since childhood. But for me, I'm happy that after receiving those gifts from my parents, I get to be independent now. Whew.

Thanks for reading my simple article again. Let me know how you feel by commenting down below.

(Endless thanks to my sponsors in this platform, readers, likers and upvoters. To God be the glory.)

God bless! ☺️

3
$ 0.54
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Sweetiepie
$ 0.01 from @Lhes
Sponsors of RosheiGanda
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for RosheiGanda
2 years ago

Comments

Yung 2 pesos ko na baon noon sis, ninanakaw pa ng kaklase ko minsan hahaha kaya ayun nanghihingi nalang ako ng pagkain. Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha. Halla grabe sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, I never experienced having a much money for "baon". I remember when I was in high school my daily allowance is P20. The fare is P16 the remaining P4 is for viand which cost P3 (just veges) and P1 for ice water. Wheewwww! No wonder I was so skinny when I was in high school🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahehehe. Those days though. Five pesos can buy many foods atleast. For us, we just hike to our school. Hehehe. I'm not skinny before but how I wish, I get to lose weight now. Lols.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yeah but at least we learned to value money based on those experienced.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sissy minsan nakakaselos din makita yon ngbibigay sa iba haha. 2pesos lanv naging baon ko nong elementary kami, ning naging high school 5pesos na. Mahirap lang kasi kamh ngtitinda ang nanay ko sanpalengke ng mga kakanin na kinukuha nia sa city tpos tatay ko kapag panahin ng mga prutas buy and selk xa ng prutas. Mahilig magbigay ng barya ang tatay at nanay ko sa ibang bata lalo na kapag umiiyak. Mahilig din sila mamigay ng pagkain sa mga oldìes diko alam bakit ganon ugali nila kahit isang kahit isang tuka lang kami

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Malambot puso ng mga magulang mo sis. Hehe. Malaki laki na din mga barya barya noon eh. Hehe. Basta, kahit wala akong pera papasok ng school basta't my baon ako. Okay na. Hehe. Walking distance din lng school namin sa kabundukan kaya okay lang. Hehe. Sana all sis may 2 pesos at 5 pesos noon. 😅 Ako, zero. Hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ung 2pesos noon sissy nakakabili ng ginataan at ice candy hahaha tpos ung 5pesos ng high school ako pamasahe lng back in fort sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago