Is Being an Artist a Talent? : Skill vs Talent

5 95
Avatar for Rose.artsss
2 years ago

There has always been a misconception and or an argument whether Artists are ; talented or skilled? So for our article today, we will be talking about: Skill vs Talent.

What is Talent?

Let's start with talent. You may ask what a talent is, so Now let me give you some examples and definitions of talent.

Talent is born when you are born, or is sometimes called, God-given talent. It is a special ability to do something that comes naturally to a person. It is something, which you do the best without putting extra efforts into it.

In many cases, it is hidden and raw. Which requires you to find and recognize it. With coaching and hard work, you can continue to hone your talent. Example; you can sing well, but getting a coach to help you can improve your talent even more.

Another example of talent is prodigies. Imagine a 5-year-old kid can play the piano amazingly, paint like van Gogh, or play a violin like a pro. And stuff like that.

What is Skill?

On to the next part! You may ask what a skill is, so now let me give you some examples and definitions of skill.

Skill is something you obtain through practice or experience. It is the outcome of continuous efforts, hard work, and improvements made to gain proficiency.

Skill is something you can learn. For example, music. You can't play a guitar before, but you wanted to play it, so you practiced. You worked hard to learn all the musical terms, keys, melodies and more. It took you months and even years to get better at it. Hence, it is a skill and not a talent.

Basically, you need to develop your skills and master them, as opposed to talent that you already have within you from the start.

So, is it a talent, or a skill?

Okay, now let's answer the question; is being an artist and or being able to draw/paint/make art/etc. is a talent or a skill?

Let's start with me as an example. As you guys might have already known, I'm a young aspiring artist.

Way back when I was about 8 y/o+ all I can draw are some stick men and some wonky anime face that most of us draw as a child lol.

Here's an example of my art when I haven't putted any effort into practicing my skills with art. Did this wonky anime drawn when I was 8 y/0

And now, after some practice, I can paint and draw realistically. After years of practice- I'd say I'm a fairly skilled artist now.

Here's my sample after years+ of practice. Did this painting when I was 14 y/0. Huge difference right?

So, does that mean I had no talent in art? Arguably, I'd say yes. In those years, I have worked hard to improve my skills. Meaning, it wasn't something I was able to do easily. It required me to spend hundreds of hours practicing it, and even poured my blood and sweat and tears into it.

But in order to learn something such as art, music, etc. you must have this thing that we call; passion and dedication.

I believe that everyone can be an artist, a musician and many more if they just spend time and actually practice and work on their skill. Because for me, my skill in art didn't just magically appeared out of nowhere.

It can also be offensive to call someone who worked so hard for their skill call what they have or do a "talent" because we work hard for it, we earned it.

People will call it "talented" And they'll say;

"awww you are so TALENTED! I wish I had a talent like yours:("

and completely disregard the hundred of hours that person spent to improve his/her skills because they'll think it's a "talent" they already have And not something that person worked hard for. It can be offensive, don't you think so?

So No, Being an artist isn't a talent.

So to answer our question, No. being an artist or being able to make art or good art isn't a talent for many. Many artists worked hard to earn their skills. So rather than "talent"- what I have is passion. Passion and dedication to pursue art.


How about you, Do you have talents? Skills? Tell me what you think of these two topics we had in the comments!


Thank you for taking the time to read our article!

Hope you liked it^^ Don't forget to up vote this article and subscribe to be notified whenever we post our future articles!


Click the picture below to see more about me!

4
$ 2.68
$ 2.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
Sponsors of Rose.artsss
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rose.artsss
2 years ago

Comments

But a question still arises what can you do that comes naturally to you when you are born, I just feel like this thing you do you must have seen it being done by someone or you might have learned it an again if you are being trained and you put in the hard work then is no longer talent now is it, sorry I don't know if you understand my argument here, for me, I just don't believe that there is anything like talent I just feel that everything we can do are things we have read, seen or being taught by someone or something

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do understand your point!

Of course things will still be thought to them, (talented people) the thing about "talent" is like, yes things will be thought to them but they can do it more "easily" per se.

For example dancing. Some people are just really great at it. Did they had practice? Yes. Did someone thought them? Yes. So on and so forth. But they can do it more easily than others.

But then again, how can we actually know it's a talent, and not a skill? ಥ‿ಥ do talent even really exist? Omo also dont know anymore HAHAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Linyahan ko yarn ee, naipag kakamali ko kasi ang Skills as Talent. Skills because you work hard on it. So I can be skilled also If I continue practicing lang no. Hilig ko din magguguhit noon ee hilig ko talaga ay sa mata kaso yon nga haha. Wala ee tinamad na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yasss ateee, oo namannn yung can, or at that, every one can in fact! I believe na if want mo talaga kaya mo, since life is a choice naman✨ thats alright too atee! Maybe the artist in you right now is just sleeping. Malay mo in the future mahiligan mo din diba✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When kaya yang in the future na yan. I'm 27 and I plan to live until 50 only so I only have 20 something years to do it. Charowtttt hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago