To Give Open Book Examination Was Once My Dream

11 45
Avatar for Roojoroojay
2 years ago

Three years back am in my third semester of BS Botany when we need to study the "Introduction To Computer" subject to learn the different skills about MS excel, MS word, PowerPoint presentation etc. But in Pakistan learning these skills is just limited to theoretically extent. Moreover our semester duration is also short that's didn't allow us to perform everything practically. Our long duration three hours computer class was just held on Monday, so its difficult to digest all the lectures in one day and also after an hour we are getting bored from class. That's why Sir told us about different interesting things to make us fresh and keep our minds active. And in one day during talking about examinations and quizes he told us about open book examination that usually held in foreigners developed countries on PHD level. By listening about open book examination we whole class just said Oh wow, we also want to give the open book examinations. Sir told us that in listening you became happy about open book examinations but in reality its too much Difficult to search out all the questions from one lengthy book and finished your paper within time. But we said its okay we managed it at least for open book we don't need to study. But we don't know that in future we will just totally dependent on online and open book system and wanna to get rid from it.

It's the end of June 2020, when first time in my life practically i listened about open book examination and by listening this first time an unusual fear enter in my both heart and mind. Because due to covid-19 am already see strange things in my life and then the atom bomb of online+open book examination just put headache on my head. I didn't aware the proper method of writing and submitting the open book paper. However 24 hour duration was given to us to solve the paper. Our paper was uploaded on our CMS portal, we downloaded the paper from CMS, then solve this long and lenghty paper with the help of Google, made its PDF and send it to the related teachers. But for the first time making a PDF is not an easy task for me and sometimes we also faced the internet issue while sending the paper. But its okay for the first time i managed it.

At that time am hopeful about my university will be opened in the next semester, but its unbelievable, heartbreaking and very destructive period for us that our remaining all four semesters are spending online and obviously our all examinations were open book. I managed my Sixth and Seventh semester online examination because there was a semester break in them and after a long period of holidays, we feel it's okay if we need to do hardwork. But recently i completed my last or final semester that's tired me a lot because from the end of December 2020 to till yet am still in study phase. After completing the seventh semester we need to go to the university on weekly basis that's tired me a lot.

Also in this semester my two subjects "Environmental Biology and Research Techniques" were with the same teacher. She is so punctual, hardworking and honest teacher. She gave all assignments of both subjects at a time and their date of submission was also same; and i have a habit of submitting my everything at the exact time. And mostly i made the fourth assignments of both subjects in one sitting and last date of submission, and surely it's cause the pain in my joints. Also the date of submission of these assignments were just two days before the final examination.

We have four subjects in this semester and there was no holiday between the examination. We gave all examinations on the regular basis and the paper duration is about 24hours, paper is too much lengthy and also need a diagrams to explain each and everything of the examination exactly. During these online examination, i have no proper time of eating and drinking. Just sitting at one place and do one job writing on the paper. Our paper duration is 1:00pm to the next day 1:00pm, and mostly i submitted my paper till 10:30 am and after this instead of doing breakfast i prefer to do the cleaning of house fastly because its only only my favorite hobby. Then Again on the 1:00 pm am on my bed and start writing. You can't imagine how much ferl i pain in the joints of my arm, in my head and my hand fingers. I start weeping when i continuously gave my two examinations because its also disturbed my sleeping habits. During online examination i sleep late in night and woke up early in the morning to finish my paper. That's why my dream wish of giving open book examination become my bad luck and i pull out of myself from this life and congratulations to me my dream was fulfilled and finally now am free from open book examinations.

Advantages and Disadvantages Of Open Book Examinations:

My Open Book Examinations Bundle

Everything has positive and negative effects, advantahes and disadvantages. And this duration of online examination also put some negative and positive effects on my life. Let's check:👇

★Advantages:

Umm.... The advantages of open Book + Online Examination was:

  • We don't need to study on daily basis. Its remove the headache of study from our lives that's we usually take in physical classes

  • As due to open book and online examination system, we don't need to study so we have a time for lots of other activities and learning different skills and things.

  • Open book examination also made our mind sharp and we have better time to use our creativity in open book paper. How.......? In my case lots of time its happened when our teacher asked us question for this we need ourselves debate on it, and google also failed to answer exactly. It's give us alarm to open the close windows of our mind and work sharply.

  • For Open book+ online examination we also don't need to go out of home and also during paper if we feel hungry we eat something.

These are the some of the advantages of online examination that's i feel during this open book + online examination period.

★Disadvantages:

According to me there are lots of disadvantages of open book and online examination i.e.👇

  • Open book examination system remove the habit of study from students, made them lazy and to some extent busy them in useless activites. Because from past this online period, i lost my habit of memorizing any topic.

  • In physical examination we have only three hours to complete our papers so we are not too much tired. But due to open Book paper am tired a lot and feeling pain in every joint of my body.

  • In open book examination, we solved paper too much good and by hardwork but there are such mentality teahers who hate to give marks to students and that's why its badly affected our grades.

  • Also sometimes we faced different types of problems during open book examination system that was internet and light issue and its put a lot of stress on student head.

These are some bad impacts of open book paper that i feel according to my experience.

Closing Thoughts:

It's human nature that he will never be happy in every condition. If he want to get one thing, then after getting this he want to achieve something others. Same happened with us we just want to give open book examination once in a life but we can't imagine it's become the part of our lives that's why we now we get rid of this open book system at any cost and finally we got successful. But this experience got us a lesson everything in our lives has its own enjoyment and importance. So we should always try to live thankful to good in every condition.

And in the end i wanna thanks to only only one one my sponsor @andrianlover for sponsoring me and keep staying in my sponsorship box.

Thanks For Reading ...!

7
$ 4.32
$ 3.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
$ 0.10 from @Niazi420
+ 4
Sponsors of Roojoroojay
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Roojoroojay
2 years ago

Comments

Open book exams make students dependent which is not good for creative learning.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Instead of independence, its really tough Experience to write on the paper for 24 hours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep write and write again, someday your article become a book

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah i shall try my best in converting my Articles into the book💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hei Arooj I must say that your handwriting is so beautiful. Btw I have had an open book exam Once, believe me, that one was so hard, But my Rank was 221 out of all in the country. The exam was held through coaching.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hey happy to see you here, ummm....my writing is little bit good and am satsified from it but others says its just like children and ooops online examinations were toughest

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, offline exams are best.No doubt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always try to do to something different like you because you aware us about many others aspect that's we don't know and this is best for us to learn and read everything that give us more knowledge

$ 0.03
2 years ago

But in these days am doing nothing except the wastage of time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe! For me, the open-book examination is more difficult. Yeah, Indeed human is never happy from one thing he becomes greedy when he saw another thing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah i also face difficulty in solving the open books examination because they were too much lengthy and my hand fingers cried😃, B/w thanks for the sponsorship 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago