0 6
Avatar for Rockyrcb
2 years ago

Nationally, the current name of the country is the Republic of the Union of Myanmar. Although the former name of the country is Burma. In 1969, the country's then military junta government converted Burma into Myanmar and the capital, Rangoon, into Yangon.

Bangladesh has a 260 km or 160 mile long international border with this Southeast Asian country. The two countries are separated by the Naf River. Note: Naf River is located in Teknaf Upazila of Cox's Bazar, Bangladesh. At the mouth of this river is Shahpari Island in Bangladesh.

The current capital of Myanmar is Naipido. It is a completely planned beautiful city. It is modeled after a developed country located in the Naipido Union Territory. It became the administrative capital of Myanmar in 2006. Naypyidaw is the third largest city in the country.

The largest river in Myanmar is the Irayati River but is officially known as the Ivorian River. It is the main commercial river in the country.

The largest city is Yangon, formerly known as Rangoon. It is the former capital of Myanmar but now only the capital of the Yangon Region. At present it is a major center of trade and commerce. The city of Yangon is located on the banks of the Yangon River.

Myanmar is called the land of golden pagodas. The national anthem means the end of the world.

The state language is Burmese, but there are some regionally recognized languages.

The country's system of government is a parliamentary constitutional republic.

The current president's name is Win Mint. Who is both the legitimate government and the head of state.

Aung San Suu Kyi is the State Councilor. In fact, it is a title or head of government like the Prime Minister. There is no title directly to the Prime Minister.

His father was Major General Aung San. Who was the then Prime Minister of Burma and is assumed to be the father of the nation of modern Myanmar.

Aung San Suu Kyi's political party is called the National League for Democracy. He was under house arrest for a long time to save democracy from the long military junta rule. He was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1991. The recent silence of the Myanmar government on the persecution of the Rohingya and its support for the Myanmar military at the International Court of Justice has sparked a storm of global criticism.

Myanmar has the title of First and Second Vice President.

The name of the legislature is the Assembly of the Union. The upper house is called the House of Nationalities, and the lower house is called the House of Representatives. Although 85% of the members of both chambers are elected by direct popular vote, the remaining 25% will be elected by the military.

The country was annexed by the British in the 18th Anglo-Burmese War, but gained independence in 1947. However, from 1972 until the beginning of the democratic system of government, it was ruled by the army.

$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Rockyrcb
2 years ago