My first horse, Poppy.

3 18
Avatar for RobynsRealm
3 years ago

I've worked with horses since I was young. Whenever I was asked what I wanted to do for work, it was always to work with horses.

I started out on riding schools, gaining experience, learning all that I could. My parents always said no to me getting my own horse or even loaning one. I think you can guess what was top of my Christmas and birthday lists every year.

Anyway, after many years later, I've finally bought one. A lovely Welsh cob mare turned 4, who was lightly handled.

For those who don't know, most horses start their ridden career at about 4 years old. Some people start them later, others start younger. Personally, I like to start them about 4 or 5. It gives their bones chance to develop. The image below shows at what ages bones develop.

Poppy turns 5 at the end of May. So, even though I would love to complete all the schooling work with her, because we don't have the facilities right now, I can't, so I've sent her away to be schooled.

I've lunged her, long reined her and even sat on her, but this is all being redone just to ensure she is happy with everything.

She has a worry over the farrier, and so today, she has had her feet picked up by the farrier, and she has been really good. With the first farrier, she gave him a swift kick. She knows who she likes and who she doesn't.

Below is the first time of her having her saddle on,

First time with full tack.
First time of sitting on her and walking.

With most horses, you expect a bit of naughtiness. Maybe a few bucks or rears when the tack is on, I mean, it's something new and they are a flight animal, shop it can be quite daunting for them.

Poppy took this in her stride, although she did try and roll with the saddle the first time it was on.

So now, she's starting from the beginning again. Being handled, lunged, long reined in preparation for being ridden. It was a difficult decision, but for safety it was the best decision.

Seeing her today, totally relaxed, well I know I've done the right thing. She is tired, because she's learning new things, and like a baby it takes time for lessons to sink in, so you keep the lessons short and sweet, and always finish on a good note.

A very tired Poppy

You have to remember, that at this age, they're still very much babies, and they need the time to process things. The place where she is, there are goats, chickens, ducks, reindeer, very noisy dogs, and it's just off a main road. There is lots for her to see and get used to.

In a short space of time, she has learnt about leading, being handled, basic commands and also many firsts. Her first bridle, saddle, very visit, dentist appointment, her first refugees and fly masks, and she has taken everything in her stride. Most horses would spook at plastic. Poppy likes to play with bags, and stand on plastic.

Having fun with a plastic bag!
An exercise in trust. Walking over different surfaces and a lesson in leading with my daughter.

Poppy's away now for a further 3 weeks, but once she's back, I can't wait to start the real work with her.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for RobynsRealm
3 years ago

Comments

I figured out how to comment! Loved this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yayyy I'm your first Fan!!! Please post this on FAMILY, they'll live it too!!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, and yes, I put it in there as well. 🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago