2022 a year of upsets

0 24
Avatar for Riyan.khan
1 year ago

Hi everyone hope everyone is doing good.

Today's article about the year 2022 which is about to end. I will discuss about every aspect but today I will focus how 2022 created upsets in sports. My favorite sports is Cricket. But I also watches football and hockey world cups. So in whole article I will focus on these sports but you can tell me if there were upsets in any other sport you like.

In start of year there was a discussion about cricket because two major tournament had to happen in 2022. And cricket fan were so excited. But for my country it was double excitement because England were coming to Pakistan for tour after 17 years. Two major tournaments were Asia cup and world cup. 2021 was great year for my team so I was so excited that my team will do so good.

Asia Cup

Asia cup started in mid of August and only Asian teams were taking part in it. First of all in first match Afghanistan gave the first upset by beating Sri Lanka in their first match. And then the days of upsets started. In next matches Sri Lanka beat India and knocked them out of final. In next match Afghanistan was about to beat Pakistan but Naseem shah hit two sixes on two balls which was the last wicket. Pakistan and Sri lanka made their way to final. Pakistan was considered favorites but Sri Lanka shocked Pakistan and won the Asia cup which was a big achievement for them because of their country condition. They had something to enjoy in such financial crisis.

And then the biggest tournament started in the ending days of October. It was happening in Australia. And the host lost the first match in their home ground I wouldn't say it was an upset because New Zealand were the strong side. Before the start of Super twelve there were a qualifying tournament in which West indies were thrashed out by small teams and it was the first world cup without two times world cup winner at that time most by any team West indies which was shocking time for their country.

Shocking world cup

Anyhow world cup progressed and another shocking moment come when Zimbabwe beat Pakistan by barest of margin. And it shocked the every cricket fan who loves cricket. But cricket is the funny game. Pakistan was considering nearly out of world cup. And then Ireland beat England which was also a shocking news. I would say world cup of tears for fans. This was the world cup where no team was sure that they are going to semis or packing their bags till the last day of group stage finished. But last day was a night mare for one of my favourite country after Pakistan. South Africa which were names as world cup chokers, they did the same as they have to win a match to secure a place in semis but they choked and Netherlands beat them easily. And at that time I was enjoying so much because they have given a chance to Pakistan to secure their place in semis. But Pakistani fans can't afford another shocking news but thankfully Pakistan beat Bangladesh and secured their place in semis.

But Australia couldn't able to make their ways to semis apart from playing in their home. This itself was a shocker. And then Pakistan beat New Zealand and England beat India to secure their places in Final. England won the final and gave another shock to me and whole Pakistan.

In this year, being a cricket lover I wept so much. I don't know why I am watching cricket since 2009 and tear never came out of my eyes but in this year everything was changed which was a shock for me. Even my father says if you can't bear stop watching the game. But I replied how can I ?? It's my passion.

Fifa world cup

Now I am totally changing the direction to football. It was a huge moment when a Muslim country got opportunity to host a world cup. And ceremony was so peaceful every Muslim was proud of it.

But this world cup brought upsets in the start. When Saudi Arabia beat Argentina in their first match and it shocked every person who know anything about this game. But it wasn't finished yet. Morocco beat world ranked 2 team Belgium and threw them out of pre quarters. Germany was knocked out and it was first time that top ranked teams was out of world cup so early.

But in pre quarters Morocco beat Espanol and in quarters Croatia beat Brazil which was a shocker. Now we are waiting for the world cup winner and two teams Argentina and France will battle.

I want Argentina to win but I also want a nail biter. Hopefully you loved my content.

Image source

unsplah.com

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Riyan.khan
1 year ago

Comments