If we could rewind time back

15 31
Avatar for Rikta
Written by
4 years ago

If we could rewind time back

November 2300

I’m Malek, I’m 22 years old. My family left Alexandria, Egypt before it was covered by water due to the catastrophic melting of the poles ice in 2050. Egypt wasn’t the only country to be flooded several other nations were flooded too.

My family moved to Berlin seeking salvation. My 16 years old sister Nour, She is funny and joyful, she likes animals, her favorite one is the tiger despite not seeing it in real life as tigers went extinct many years before her birth due to the global warming and the destruction of the natural habitats. Tigers weren’t the only species to go extinct: blue whales, pandas, polar bears and sundry other species. My father “Sami” is a successful bank director he is a man of discipline and we always fight because of my lifestyle and friends. My mother “Farida” is my best friend, she is a formidable woman with good natured face and low calming voice. She is an artist we always joke and have fun together.

I admire all of her paintings but there is one painting that stands out .She calls it “Paradise on earth”. It’s an impeccable and marvelous painting.

I stare at it for ours without blinking,it’s a forest with colorful and dazzling parrots everywhere, gentle rays landing on the green leaves making them shine brilliantly, the sky is clear, a clean and calm river is extending as much as sight could go , it’s a painting of the amazon forest which was gone years before I was born . My mother too didn’t see it in real life she only saw it in pictures and documentaries.

One day I was day dreaming in front of this painting; my mother came and sat next to me asking me “Beautiful isn’t it?” “Very beautiful” I replied without looking at her. “Oh I wish if I could have visited this place once in my life.” My mom said desperately “Me too mom, me too.” I replied instantly.

The earth is not okay, here in berlin the winter is extreme, it barley stops raining although the city has a suitable infrastructure but it couldn’t face this weather which leaves the streets flooded with water for days, adding to this thick abundant clouds are restricting sunrays from reaching us most of the winter furthermore powerful windstorms danger is lurking which could easily result in devastating hurricanes.

That’s not normal I keep telling that to myself, on top of that our main source of energy is fossil fuel which results in acid rain that leads to the biggest catastrophe which is our crops can’t grow, as this acidic rain changes the PH of the soil which stands as a major obstacle in growing food. Although scientists tried to fix that by genetic engineering to give the crops some strength but it’s not effective.

Right now I’m flying to meet Adam via my “V6 Hawk” It’s a flying car that my father gave to me in my last birthday. It’s oval shaped with four motors ,two at the front sides and two at the rear sides, it has a huge wind shield which by the way is cracked , 2 comfortable beige seats and a huge flash light .It’s of vivid blue color , but has few scratches on the sides due to my jaw dropping flying skills.

Its 9 am in the morning , its heavily raining and the wind is powerful which is giving me a hard time controlling the car let alone its scary howling sound .Nobody is walking in the streets but flying cars are everywhere and their noisy horns are not stopping.

The building’s roofs are filled with water due to the vigorous raining and water is pouring from the roofs immensely, it’s like I’m flying between massive waterfalls.

Adam is calling, “ Hey what’s up bro hope your fine ,I’m waiting for you in front of the ancient building , uh by the way did you study for next week exam’’ asked Adam curiously .

“We have known each other since we were 10 Adam, did I ever study for an exam “I replied wondering.

“Well no, not really” Adam responded in a frustrated tone. “Then why are you asking” I replied trying to reason with Adam.

“Because it’s an important exam and it’s going to affect our grades maybe” replied Adam in a sarcastic manner. “I’m a creative man, so let’s improvise and trust me we will study hard for the next exam” I replied calmly and confidently.

“That’s what you have told me before the last 20 exams and we didn’t’’. He responded hopelessly.

“This time is different” I replied reassuring him.

“You told me that a lot too, however I’m waiting for you, hope you come on time” replied Adam in hopeful tone.

“Yeah you wish” I replied jokingly.

It’s an abandoned old building that lies at the outskirts of the city , with a huge “no trespassing” sign that didn’t stop him from trying to break in but he didn’t manage , as the police patrols were frequent ,so he asked me to join this barbaric break in to see what this place hides. I doubt that we would find anything there but what could possibly go wrong from explorin.

11
$ 0.00
Avatar for Rikta
Written by
4 years ago

Comments

Really its a learning article,,keep it up

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
4 years ago

nice articale

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks for comment dear 💘💗💖

$ 0.00
4 years ago

You check my articles

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Great article!

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks for comment dear 💘💗💖

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Nice post

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks for comment dear 💘💗💖

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Welcome dear

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Good articles dear 💝

$ 0.00
4 years ago

Thanks for comment dear 💘💗💖

$ 0.00
4 years ago