Summer 2021 Anime Review: Sonny Boy, Vanitas no Carte, Detective is Already Dead and Duke of Death

0 68
Avatar for Rekkuu_Official
2 years ago
Topics: Anime

New Season means my new reviews and first impression to the new anime of Summer 2021. Last season is a bomb for its awesome but underappreciated anime. So I'm really excited but a little bit anxious too for this season. There's not that much big names listed and the new anime seems not interesting enough. But let's see if the anime in My Most Anticipated Summer 2021 Anime really exceed my anticipation.

These anime once caught my attention by their plot, trailers, authors and even the animation studio that handles them. And given that I'm not familiar with most of them since I didn't read their mangas, I wouldn't be surprised if I will get disappointed with some of them. So let's start off with this four anime.

Sonny Boy

This anime is the number 1 in My Most Anticipated Summer 2021 Anime. I'm excited with this one because it was made by Madhouse (the studio responsible for many good anime including One Munch Man) and it was written and directed by the same director of One Punch Man anime adaptation. I was mesmerized by its trailer especially the animation. It was unique yet clean and flawless. And after watching the first episode, here's my impression on this mysterious series.

I like that it started directly to the main plot. Their school was trapped into a dimension and the students that are left inside started to gain mysterious power. I actually like it because it adds more mysteries that they need to solve soon. Not until the student council made a rules to punish those students that abuse their power. In my opinion their rules are not bad but as expected it will backfire. Their methods will cause more conflict and it was a total disaster. The animation was amazing as expected and the characters are interesting. But the ending of Episode 1 left me with a big confusion. There's so many questions I have in mind but knowing it is just the beginning I wouldn't mind it at all. All I know is there's so much potential it currently have. It just getting started and I expect more mysteries to solve soon. And if it was executed properly, It would probably be one of the best.

Rate: 9/10

Vanitas no Carte

Number 7 in my most anticipated anime list because I'm not really a big fan of any Vampire fictions. There's so many loopholes with that creatures and matter what kind of alterations they give to the story, I still find them interesting. So what's in this anime that makes me so anticipated?

The first episode of Vanitas no Carte is a bomb. It somehow reminded me with Owari no Seraph and Bungou Stray Dogs. Its interesting but I guess Vampire genre is still my least favorite. The animation is okay and the characters is in a class of their own. I will not probably like this but the female fans will probably do. It started with the introduction of "Book of Vanitas" and how did he became a victim of his clan's crooked beliefs. He was banished because he is a Blue Moon born while the usual vampires was born on a Crimson One. They believe it was a bad omen and since he was banished he created a book that can curse Vampires to make revenge out of them. Ironically in the current period it was owned by a human doctor that carries both his Book and his Name and cure some vampire's rare disease. I like that they took the settings in Paris and I love the Opening Song and Ending Song. I didn't read its manga but I read some opinions that it is actually a sad anime. So don't underestimate this anime yet, It should get better and better soon.

Rate: 9/10

Tantei wa Mou, Shindeiru

Tantei wa Mou, Shindeiru or The Detective is Already Dead is my Number 2 most anticipated anime. It feels like I didn't have any good Rom-Com for a long time. Hopefully this anime will be consistent with its genre. The first episode is a 40 minutes long and its already awesome. Now I started to get why lots of people are excited with this one. And I really hope it gets more interesting soon.

The story started when Kimihiko boarded a plane to deliver a mysterious suit case. And while on a plane he meets a detective with a codename of Siesta. This is where I noticed that Siesta is a top tier Wifu and I'm sure this is why peoply are so excited. Siesta is a smart, strong and skillful detective. She makes Kimihiko her assistant and offered him to accompany her travel abroad. And after the event happened in cultural festival, he finally agreed. The animation is beautiful and that fighting scene on airplane is satisfying. I don't actually know what to feel on the supernatural parts but this anime is surely satisfying. Just don't try to add Harem in this. I can feel Harem will be added soon but I hope they will not. It is fine as it is and I personally think Harem will ruin this.

Rate: 9/10

Shinigami Bocchan to Kuro Maid

The Duke of Death and His Maid anime is my Number 6 most anticipated and after the first episode, I don't know what to feel anymore. I like the story but I'm disappointed for various reasons. J.C Staff lost their credibility as an anime studio since the release of One Punch Man Season 2. And their anime lately is a bit sloppy maybe because of budget. But since animations is a big thing for today's anime, it's not surprising that low quality animations are not accepted by fans even though the story is great. And here's what I think on the first episode.

As I said, I love the story of this anime. A duke was cursed by a witch when he was young for unknown reason. Whatever he touches will die as if he sucked the life out of him. Feared by many, his family decided that he must live in a mansion away from people. He lived alone with his butler and interesting maid that always teases him. I can see Takagi-san san reference in this anime but he is teased in a sexual way. And the character design reminds me of Boku no Kokoro no Yabai Yatsu. This 2 anime I put as a reference is a "Teasing" type of stories and The Duke and His Maid looks similar to them. It may look fine and okay but actually I can't put this anime in a 9 category. I like how they made this as a 2D CGI instead of 3D but CGI still feels unnatural. They lacks many emotions and the movement feels weird. Well its still interesting though but not the best for this season.

Rate: 8/10

Sponsors of Rekkuu_Official
empty
empty
empty

Summer 2021 just started and we can expect more to be released soon. I wait some anime that I've been anticipated to and I expect them to be released this week. I just hope I can find anime soon that can get a 10/10 as a first episode. So far most of them are not bad but I hope there are anime like Vivy, 86 or Odd Taxi soon. So just stay tuned.

3
$ 1.21
$ 1.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @ahmadmanga
Sponsors of Rekkuu_Official
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rekkuu_Official
2 years ago
Topics: Anime

Comments