My Top 10 Musical Anime

4 61
Avatar for Rekkuu_Official
3 years ago
Topics: Anime, Music

Music is the most interesting and also the most expensive genre in anime especially if all the music used is original. You have to pay for the music and produce it in separate way. So musical anime is usually rare and if ever they are produced, they are either low in quality or they just use classical and already produced music. In this list is my Top 10 Musical Anime. I judged them based on how well they balanced the music into the story. I really love those anime with good original music. So here's my Top choice.

10. Piano no Mori

Piano no Mori also known as "Piano Forest" or "Forest of Piano" is one of those anime that uses classical pieces and put it in a piano contest type of story. Well this type of musical anime isn't bad at all but it is also my not so favorite type of story. The storyline usually lack of diversity that makes it easy to predict what will going to happen. Piano no Mori isn't the best out there but it is also not the worst. If fact overall it's not so bad. It just lack diversity and impact in the story. It's a shame though since I love how solid it's storyline is. But yes it is my Top 10.

Favorite:

9. Zombieland Saga

Zombieland Saga is just a unique musical anime. It's fun and interesting but the story is generic. Well almost "Idol" type of musical anime is just generic so I'm not expecting that much to Zombieland Saga. But what it really caught my interest that makes this anime deserving in its spot is from a certain part in a certain episode of the show. Specifically the Rap Battle part in the end of Episode 2. It's actually a well made rap battle and maybe you can call best in any anime. The beat and lyrics just suit its other but what more amazing is the precision of animation. The lip and body movement just sync on what the characters are doing. Well other than that I can't find their other performance that I can call extraordinary. That's why it's not that high in this list. But seriously that rap battle is unexpectedly good.

Favorite:

8. Hibike! Euphonium

This anime is probably one of the best animated anime in this list. Well it's already expected since it is made by Kyoto Animation Studios. Despite of its clean and impressive animation the story and music is just average. Its a waste though cause I really love the idea of using wind instruments and the impressive character development. The music produced is actually not that bad. Even I who can't actually understand how their music works, I can really tell if its good or not. Some anime failed at this especially if they play the same piece and you have to compare the two. It just showed how well made this anime is.

Favorite:

7. K-On!

Another work of Kyoto Animation and actually it should be tied with Hibike Euphonium. Both of them is really good but K-On! Is slightly better for me in terms of music. Well the songs is not that extraordinarily good but I actually like anime that have more vocals than instruments and that's make K-On! differs from Hibike Euphonium. Its sad that the story isn't that explosive that much. It would be great if the story expand and give a different punch to it. But yeah K-On! Is still a good anime choice for music.

Favorite:

6. Sakamichi no Apollon

This anime is the closest to be successful in this list but failed in the end. It started strongly and continued until the half of the story. But in the last part, it is just a shame that they didn't play at their school performance. I get it that they need to put some twist in the story. And to be honest, the story alone is magnificent but the music genre is just a wasted gem. It remained unpolished until the end. I love it when they choose jazz as the genre of the music. But the sad part is they rarely play at all. If they just add more musical parts and include wide variety of jazz music. This anime can easily climb in my top musical genre.

Favorite:

5. Nodame Cantabile

This anime is very similar to Your Lie on April. Well not exactly in all aspect, its just the vibes. This anime just focus more on orchestra. If Your Lie on April is more drama then Nodame Cantabile excell in comedy. Being an orchestra, it is so much fun to see and hear different kinds of instruments. The character of Noda Megumi is such a good one. She is cute, talented but most of all funny. When she have a scene with Chiaki, you can expect a balance combination of comedy and romance. Well, maybe if in terms of Rom-Com it can easily top. But because I can't find something excellent in music it is just my number 5.

Favorite:

4. Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

Because of its similar vibes to Nodame Cantabile, Your Lie on April should be the same spot as Nodame. And because it has much better animations and more solid storyline, Your Lie on April took my number 4 spot. In terms of music, this anime isn't the best. It just that the music they used is a revised version of classical piano pieces that mixed very well in the mood of the story. Maybe thats why Your Lie on April is such a huge success in anime. It may not the best in musical genre but it can easily top my Romance Drama section. It just showed how well the anime is if they just balance out the genres.

Favorite:

3. Carole & Tuesday

If it didn't have such a good original music Carole and Tuesday should be in the lower part of this list. In the back of its perfect music produced lies the messy part of its story. The original music in this anime is a feast to your ear. It's almost like this show is created just to be its music video. But the plot and story is outrageously average. It feels like the writers is just playing around. Well nevertheless the music is still my favorite parts. All music in this anime is an add to playlist worthy one. Well maybe except for those songs from Mermaid Sisters. It is way too funny.

Favorite:

2. Nana

This is a very difficult choice for me. This Nana and my number 1 should be at the same spot. They excell in making original music that goes very well with the story. But my second choice will be given to Nana. This anime hits really hard especially with the feels. So many emotions can be found in this one. Well most of it is just a heartache. The animation is also weird. They make the female characters weird in face proportion but the males are made much more cooler. And their music is really good too especially if you watch the movie and know the background of what the song is all about. This anime is one of those classics that people never know and waited to be rediscovered.

Favorite:

1. Beck

And yes my number 1 is definitely Beck. A perfect combination of Music, Romance and Drama. The story in Beck is actually inferior than Nana. Maybe thats why I have a hard time choosing between the two. But what Beck makes number 1, the music. The original songs in this show is world class. It's a huge shame that they lacked in budget that time that hinder in the production of the songs. Their songs is just well written and the voice used is a perfect choice. I even have LSS until now with their songs. But what I like in this anime is the effort in production. They even find someone fluent in English as a voice actor that some anime usually doesn't. It add more flavor to the show that makes it more realistic. With it's good music and almost realistic story, it isn't a wonder why it just took my Number 1 spot.

Favorite:

Sponsors of Rekkuu_Official
empty
empty
empty

My list is just based on what my opinion is. And besides I don't have any idea about some anime that didn't appeared in this list since I haven't watched them yet. Vivy is such a good one too but didn't appeared because it isn't done yet. But believe me it can easily be my Top 5. For now this anime in this list is a great must check ones.

9
$ 13.54
$ 13.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @nadiahensont
Sponsors of Rekkuu_Official
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rekkuu_Official
3 years ago
Topics: Anime, Music

Comments

Im a reader of your articles, I fell like your so informative when it comes to anime, I hope you'll never stop sharing sources of anime hahah, keep up the good work and im looking for your future articles. I hope you'll give some anime with horror genres.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of your list, I’ve only completely watched Nana and Carole and Tuesday. But we can agree to disagree in regards to Nana’s art style because I like it very much. It’s still very shoujo manga but with the less fluffy effect.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey I still like nana art style hahaha. It is just weird on how can they make cool males but the females are not. Or maybe I'm not used to that kind of Shoujo art style.😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Loved it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago