Schools teach us failure

0 19
Avatar for Redpaperdaily
2 years ago

Schools Teach us Failure (Part 1) Lessons from the seminary

I wrote my first article in the Daily Monitor at 16,1 year later I moved to a new school where I became the editor in chief of the schools magazine,with the help of a few people in my life,I published my first book at 17,titled schools teach us failure,it was a small book with about 40 pages,was about what works and what doesn work in school,you know a few of my relatives are writers too,so it was easy. I was inspired to start writing in 2007,when i becoming increasingly frustrated with school,I set myself on a journey to discover new ways of learning,you see my advancement in English had been chained to learning math,the one subject I disliked right from childhood..similarily,my progess on the play ground was limited by school chores like cleaning classrooms and the compound,,,any way by then I was the best literature student in my class,and no doubt I was the best in my UNEBs,you see every teacher liked me,I was very inteligent and smart.Though my colleageus were canned and flogged around the compound for the slightest of mistakes like losennig their ties after lunch,I was not.They seemed to have that fear,I looked very mature for my age.Right from the seminary,we were never put to the rod.At the seminary we were treated like young adults,chidren of the noble,...so we became very majestic and bold,yet very calm.

Unlike the seminary,normal schools were an alien place for me,we were treated like kids,caning was the order of the day,academic assemblies where the best students were rewarded and the worst beaten and shamed.Exam marks were put on public display for everyone to see,one large bathroom for senior one students with shower nosels where they all gathered to shower,a large dormitory where we used to put up with senior 1ś,making long lines for food,to cut it short,it was not only in humane and was never cut out for this,so I struggled in all parts of life at my new school,and had to endure a year before I would move to another school.I was different,and still different,you know the things that other students value most like; the best marks,best dressed,swagging,competition,good things....e.t.c are not the things I value most and that is not the real world is all about,if it were then the best students in class would become the most successful in life!!

In the seminary, we were taught that winning is not everything,and that when someone beats you,you should turn the other chick,to be continued

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Redpaperdaily
2 years ago

Comments