Overcoming Depression

0 10
Avatar for RealTalker
3 years ago

Deep sadness, negative thoughts, hopelessness, and emptiness. These are the feelings and emotions that every depress person experience.

One professor says that depression was used by people as an escape to face the consequences of their wrong decisions . But I totally disagree with her .

Depression is serious medical illness that negatively affects how you feel, the way you think and how you act. Studies says that 800 000 people die due to suicide every year and 970 million people worldwide had a mental illness. This a condition where people who had this kind of illness had to face his greatest enemy – his self and his own negative thoughts.

I myself experience depression 5 years ago. Back then I was a jolly person and over confident with by my skills and abilities. I’m so competitive that I always want to be on top. But when I entered college, I become pressure because my classmates are rich and smarter than me. To make the long story short, I’ve been bullied by may classmates. Unfortunately, I was unable to handle myself so I got depress. I felt so weak mentally, emotionally and physically. Even though my parents keeps on encouraging me, I still feel so alone. I isolated myself to people and refuses to get involve on any occasion. Christmas and New year has passed- while everyone was enjoying, Im on my bed crying and blaming myself for what happened to my life.

We decided to ask for a help. We consulted a Psychiatrist and she gave me a medicine to drink. But I still nothing changed I still feel depressed.

And then I started to do some research about my illness. I discovered that depression is all about mental battle. I have suppress those negative thoughts with positive ones. If you reading this blog and you know someone feeling experiencing depression, you can share this to her : First you have have to accept that fact that you are depress. Do not deny it. From that moment, you will going to make a decision if you want to recover or not. Then surround your self with the people you love – your family, friends and love once. And withdraw from the people who make you feel stress. I will be very helpful if you will going to go out and explore new things you can do- art, reading, sketching, singing, biking, etc. even though you don’t feel getting up in your bed. Drink more water, take neural vitamins and eat healthy foods. For me, I do not recommend taking anti- depressant because you might become dependent of it. Lastly do not let your pain define you. Feed your mind with positive thing by reading devotionals. I recommend blogs by Joseph Prince, Creflo Dollar and Gregory Dickow. Their writings are full of grace and wisdom. Make Jesus the center of your life and meditate on his love for you. The revelation of God’s love has the power to heal all wounds of brokenness, pain and regrets. People will leave and hurt us but that’s not the end of our story.

In my personal experience, I considered it as a night mare but God wake me up and make me realize how small the decease compare to his presence for me to give up. I understand that depression is a life long decease therefore I learned to manage the pressures, stress, and challenges when it comes. Above all, I always recognized the presence of my love ones and my Savior Jesus as my greatest anchor and the lifter of my head.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for RealTalker
3 years ago

Comments