Encounter With Creatures Of The Night

0 12
Avatar for Raymo
Written by
3 years ago

Many years ago, I remember coming home from playing hockey at around 2 AM. The moon was quite bright and on the horizon in the condo building nearby, I could see a couple lights were still on. Just as I was about to put away my hockey equipment bag in the garage, I heard some rustling in the fig tree next to the garage. I stopped and took out my smartphone. Fumbling with it until I found the flashlight app, I shone it onto the tree and what do you know, a set of eyes stared back at me.

It was a raccoon and it caught me a little by surprise. The tree was very close to the garage door and I did not want to make the first move. Soon it became a standoff as the raccoon also refused to move. I laid down my bag and faked swinging my stick at it but it still refused to move. I shone the light at it. Nothing. It refused to move. Here I was with my hockey bag, sticks and smart phone light ready for a fight. It seem like an eternity but eventually I was able to put away my hockey bag.

When I got out of the garage, what a sight I saw. A family of raccoons staring at me on top of the wooden fence. Father, mother and kids just staring at me. No wonder there was so much rustling in the tree. Another standoff ensued until I made my way slowly to the front of the house and opened the door. I locked it tight but I think the raccoons were still out there perched on the fence. I will chalk it up as just another encounter with creatures of the night. No vampires, just a family of raccoons.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments