Bitcoin Stocks vs Gold Stocks

0 15
Avatar for Raymo
Written by
3 years ago

This post I will compare the bitcoin stocks and gold stocks that I have in my portfolio.

I do hold both types of stocks but the bitcoin stocks, I've only started taking positions over the last four months, ever since MicroStrategy started buying BTC for their treasury in September 2020.

After going through a deep dive into bitcoin via podcasts (Raoul Pal, Michael Saylor, Anthony Pompliano) on Youtube and following Plan B, Preston Pysh, Robert Breedlove, etc on Twitter and even Youtube influencers (Ivan on Tech, Chico Crypto, Digital Asset News), I had concluded that holding bitcoin was a good idea. Matter of fact, it's a great idea, given the central bank money printing and the asymmetrical bet that is bitcoin.

I have seen first hand the mighty growth in BTC (over 5500%) since I first bought some BTC in 2013. I had done nothing with it until I started purchasing BTC again this summer. However, as I have always loved playing the stock market and was intrigued about the bitcoin treasury list at bitcointreasuries.org, I decided to buy up the list.

In comparing my holdings in gold stocks to bitcoin stocks, I might be comparing apples and oranges but this is not a scientific comparison and this is my spin on my portfolio holdings.

So here are my returns at December 4, 2020 based on the percentage gain/loss on the valuation tab on my discount brokerage summary page.

Bitcoin

Voyager Digital (VYGR) +129.9%

MicroStrategy (MSTR) +89.7%

Hut 8 Mining (HUT.wt) +50.5%

Bitfarms (BITF) +49.1%

HIVE Blockchain Technologies (HIVE) +49.0

Galaxy Digital (GLXY) -9.9%

3iQ The Bitcoin Fund (QBTC) -10.1%

Gold

Goldspot Discoveries (SPOT) +172.9%

New Found Gold (NFG) +150.5%

Heliostar Metals (HSTR) -45.89%

Right now, it looks like the gold stocks have the lead but it's not a fair comparison as basically I have held these gold stocks for a much longer period. Also I have traded out my losers and kept my winners in gold. But over the longer term, I figure things will level out. It's something I will check up on weekly.

1
$ 0.98
$ 0.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Raymo
Written by
3 years ago

Comments