The Yam Barn. African's top food.

21 35
Avatar for RandomBloger
3 years ago

Hi. Good morning to you all.

Have you heard of the word *YAM* before.

A typical Yam Barn in Africa

It Is a tuber crop cultivated it mostly the African countries, the locals consume it after cooking. It can also be pounded to form a local delicacy they call *pounded yam*

A pounded yam meal served with Egusi soup. It is a local soup known to Africans.

They eat it with stew or with their locally prepared soup.

A tuber of yam, peeled and slices then cooked and served with soup.

And here today I bring you a piece I've written about the "Yam Barn"

"**The yams beckon to me like bees, flower plants fat fleshy smooth yams,

Don't rest for too long on the long strong poles,

Sweet new harvest come down to make my day**".

How does the poet feels to you after seeing the yams. Have you tasted such meal before, what is your experience with other meals?

To get notified on more of my content
To support and show your love and careπŸ’“πŸ’“πŸ’“

Your faithful... @RandomBloger .

13
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Pirex05
Avatar for RandomBloger
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article please like coment subcribe back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, will sure do that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yam as a tuber crop grows for several months before it is being harvested, and after harvest, a yam feast festival is held to mark the end if farming season in my community, we are all farmers and our practice differs from other part of the African countries. Pounded yam is a delicious meal when added with good soup and a well garnished meat.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Happy you talked about the duration of growth, never seen a yam farm myself.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The poet makes me want to have more bowl of pounded yam meal. Because whenever I hear about this meal, my urge for feeding rise. I love to see the arrangement of the yam in he yam barns too, they seem vet lovely.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I glad you are impressed with the poet about the yam barn. Follow me to get notified on more, and eat more if yam. Yours always: #RandomBloger

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I knows of yam so very well because I am a farmer and my co-farmers cultivate the yam in their various field, it is a very good tuber for food purpose enriched with carbohydrates, it can be cooked after peeling the back or with the back unpeeled. And it is expensive because it is one among the best classes of tuber foods, it is cooked during festivities or as a recreational food.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Am glad to meet you, farmers are backbone of our society'

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've seen the yam barn once when I traveled with my mom to a village, a lot of yam, like thousands of yam were stocked up in the ban, and I was oppurtuned to taste the pounded yam meal and stew soup which was garnished with varieties of bush meat. It was really the best trip I had in my life time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is a really nice and enriching experience I wish I had such too, though I've tasted pounded yam, it tastes really nice, I can call it my favourite

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am a person who loves food so very well, but unfortunately for me, I have never tasted such food. I wish soon enough I will taste it and have a feeling if how the yam tastes. Although am glad you shared this post with us, am opened to experiences of foods around the world. I heard Africans have diverse varieties of meal.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha everyone loves food so much, so sorry about you never testing it, but I must admit to the fact that it is one of the best meals in the world.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice and very informative article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, I appreciate you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, hope you have had a taste of this delicacy in an eatery before or at home, am sure you loved it if you did.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful article very educative even the Yoruba's in Nigeria used it for Amala . Thanks for sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Am so happy to hear this, sure you know about this class of food well, have you tasted it before to know how it feels?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting article, yam is a very good food, like the North Central of Nigeria Benue state precisely use pounded yam and draw soup as there occasional food

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! This is a food, well known to Nigerians I guess, I will say it us the locals favourite for occasions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago