Geronimo

0 19
Avatar for Rakibul287476
2 years ago

When Geronimo was in Fort Pickens (Escambia County, Florida) he dictated a letter to George Wratten, who translated it into English as he knew the Apache language perfectly.

Geronimo's letter was addressed to his family in Fort Marion (St. Augustine, St. Johns County, Florida), their wives Ih-tedda and his daughter Lenna; and Zi-yeh and her son Fenton.

On April 9, 1887, the "Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper" published this letter entitled “A Love Letter from Geronimo”:

MY DEAR WIVES AND MY SON AND DAUGHTER:

Are you at Fort Marion? If so, how do you like it there? Have you plenty to eat and do you sleep and drink well? Send me a letter and tell me all the news. I am very well satisfied here, but if I only had you with me again would be more so. I work every day, except Sundays. It is very healthy to work. My work is not hard. It consists of hoeing and raking in and around the fort. It seems to me the Great Father and God are very closely united. I do hope he will let us see one another soon. As sure as the trees bud and bloom in the Spring, so sure is my hope of seeing you again.

Talking by paper is very good, but when you see one's lips move, and hear their voice, it is much better. I saw General Miles, heard him speak, and looked into his eyes, and believed what he told me, and I still think he will keep his word. He told me that I would see you soon, also see a fine country and lots of people. The people and the country I have seen, but not you.

The sun rises and sets here just the same as in our country, but the water here is salt. The Government is good, and does not like to see the Indian imposed on. It has given us pants, coats with pockets on, and shoes, and enough to eat. I think of God, the President and you in the same light. I like you so well. When I get your letter I will think well over it. I hope you think the same of me as I do of you. I think you have influence with the sun, moon and stars.

If the Government would only give us a reservation, so we could support ourselves - oh! Wouldn’t it be fine? We are at peace now, and by God's help will remain so. There are seventeen of us here, and not one thinks or acts bad. Everybody is well and contented. Chatto is a bad man, and has caused us lots of trouble. His tongue is like the rattlesnake's, forked. Do not let him hear a word of this letter. Do what is right, no matter how you may suffer. Write to me soon a long letter.

Your husband.

"Geronimo"

www.apacheria.es

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Rakibul287476
2 years ago

Comments