Digital childhood vs. analog childhood

1 18
Avatar for Rahim420
3 years ago

Once upon a time in the morning I was awakened by the cooing of a rooster, now I am awakened by a digital alarm; I can't remember the last time I heard a crow call. When I was a child, I used to see my mother, my father used to hand over the market sheets, now I get orders from my wife, sometimes by e-mail and sometimes by text message. As parents in childhood, our presents were gas balloons, dolls, or toy cars (cars driven by remote I never saw in my childhood); Today's kids want remote-controlled helicopters, they want play-stations, they play war games on iPads.

But we are the first digital generation. Again, we are the last generation who needed a film to take pictures of their childhood, then a strange object called negative was produced, after taking it to a dark room, the pictures would appear on the paper soaked in water. Could anyone have imagined taking a selfie like now?


When I was a child, my mother used to force me to go to bed at noon. When he came out of the house with a ball, it did not take long for his teammates to join him. And now on holiday afternoons my son is ordered to sleep in his room while we are asleep in our own room, the boy then quietly gets up with FIFA or NFS on his PSP. We were overwhelmed by ‘Grandma’s bag’ and ‘Arabian Nights’; Osbe has no value to him, Doraemon is much more fun to him, Ben10 is much more thrilling, Tom & Jerry is much more interesting. That day he sat on his face saying, cartoons are more dear to him than his parents!

Is it his fault? Who taught him to watch TV? We. Who gave him games and gadgets? We. Who forbade him to leave the house for fear of kidnapping? We. We have taken away the playground from him, we have infiltrated his intellect, we have taught him that watching TV is much more entertaining than reading books. This realization is not new to me today, when my son learned to say only a few words at the age of 4, I realized that I had planted a poisonous tree with my own hands. He is now seven and a half years old. Still can't speak clearly, he is slightly Autistic. The doctor said, "We are responsible for this. We made him addicted to TV from the age of one." As a result, he is more interested in TV (cartoons) than talking, and the voices of the people around him do not attract him as much as the sound of TV commercials or cartoons.

A few days ago I made an atonement for this sin. I got up in the morning and blocked the cartoon channels on TV. I removed the PSP from the boy's house. And tabs. I took out his almost lost story books and read some stories to him. I got the benefit of it in the afternoon, the boy was reading one book after another as he could not do anything else. He read Upendrakishore Roychowdhury's "Tuntuni's Story" a few times and almost memorized it. The boy who was reluctant to talk to his parents after watching the cartoon two days ago, called me last evening and started acting out Tunutni's story! Wow, I want this! Who says this digital generation is bad mechanical? One of my relatives is a pediatrician. As a result of watching my son, he is raising his infant daughter at home with complete reluctance to watch TV. The girl started talking at the age of two. Now in three and a half years he speaks almost like an adult.

Let's come to the context of food. I used to eat tiffin at school for 1 Singara or 2 Puri. Special was the five-Sikri (Rs. 1.25) Cream Forest. A few days later, butter naan (three-corn bread with cream on both sides) became very popular for 3 rupees, although I could not eat it every day because of the high price. 10 super biscuits (in the form of modern Oreo biscuits) were available for Rs.Equal). We used to buy nuts for 1 taka, can the present generation imagine that? I used to say ice cream by ringing a brass bell and banging on a tin tube and saying “Ronnie Super Malai. Four annas, eight annas one taka ”. There was a scent of milk in that lolly of one taka, they were eaten by the rich, I used to buy Malai of eight annas (50 paisa) with the smell of saccharin. Now many shops do not have ice cream for less than 100 rupees! I also remember that when my father used to come back from the office in the evening, if he had brought a Moghlai paratha for 10 taka or a shik-kebab for 5 taka and that dal puri worth 1 taka, it would have been Eid at home. And now it is not possible to melt the minds of children without a thousand rupees pizza or burger combo.


Fast food should actually be called junk food. At least if we use this name we will try to keep the child away from it. Studies have shown that the chicken fries that are now made with chicken are made thicker and fresher by taking special medicines. That drug is also having an effect on our children. Obesity at an early age or getting taller at an abnormal pace is a big symptom. Too much cheese or fatty foods are not good for the heart at all. And there is no way to know which food is stale and which is fresh. Consumption of preservatives has increased at an alarming rate since our generation, leading to an increase in the incidence of cancer in line with the developed world. Did so many people get infected with this deadly disease 20 years ago? Now it can be heard in almost every family (or relatives) that someone is suffering from cancer. But our eating habits are responsible for this. And in some cases childhood eating habits have been identified as a cause of cancer in adulthood. My seven-and-a-half-year-old son has only eaten pizza once in his life, can't remember when he ate burgers. And the sandwiches I make at home; That is his favorite breakfast. Kids adapt quickly to anything. So they will adopt the habit that we will make them. All you need to do is show them the right way with care. Today's busy parents try to appease their children by feeding them junk food to cover up the grief of not being able to give them proper time, it seems that this is not the right solution.

Many of us who have entered the digital age from the analog age are living a somewhat unbalanced life. I think it's time to think about how much technology should be allowed to occupy a part of life. I know a lot of couples who get close to each other only in bed at night. At home or abroad, for the most part, the husbands and wives of this generation are both working. As a result, the day is spent in the busyness of the office, maybe in the gap of work, all the important conversations are on the phone or text message. By looking at the posts on Facebook, they get to know each other's news, and values, arrogance, quarrels and quarrels - all these seem to be framed in the square box of chat. Whatever else is done online, feelings are not properly expressed, leaving room for misunderstandings; At the same time the intensity of the bond is weakened. There are exceptions, I'm just shedding light on the general picture. Isn't it common for almost every single family to have a husband sitting at home at night with his laptop open, wife watching mobile serials, chatting on a cell phone with a friend, a child reading to a tutor at home, or playing computer games? Is the bond inside such a family very healthy? If this child grows up and sends his parents to an old age home, will it be wrong for him? Sociologists are well aware that technology has shaped our emotions over the past few decades. I have seen many families who have been eating with it for several days in a month, they have to remember. To comfort each other, they may travel abroad with their families once a year, do a lot of shopping, and post a status on Facebook saying "Life is beautiful." But it seems to me that they are not getting the real taste of life. Rather, giving “quality time” to the family every day makes life more meaningful. It is not necessary to eat in expensive restaurants, nor is it important to stay in expensive resorts. The whole family can have a picnic on the roof of the house, which is also very enjoyable.

My wife (I don't know if she was a medical student) is very careful about the health of the relationship. That's why he deactivated his Facebook account, telling me to do the same, I can't. However, during the holidays at home, we try to give less time to the boy by watching less TV, I have also reduced the habit of writing, instead of that time I read books to him or play with him. Besides, I teach him every day when I come back from the office, I don't have a tutor and I want to spend time with him. We don't have a maid. So my wife has to spend a lot of time in the kitchen, she skillfully involves me in cooking so that I can spend some time with her. Although I feel tired, I enjoy it a lot. These are trivial examples, but at the end of the day, if Otuku didn't spend time with him, our life might have become "everyone's".

In this age of technology, none of us can survive without technology. However, maintaining a balance so that excessive machine dependence does not push us away from the people closest to us is a big social challenge in this digital age.

Zero width embed


2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Rahim420
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Rahim420
3 years ago

Comments

just amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago