My Life Changing Career

0 27
Avatar for Quenn
Written by
2 years ago

I am a Cashier II at Polangui Community College when I decided to take up Certificate of Methods of Teaching in the same college too. Our class is composed of Professionals and graduates who would like to be Teachers someday. It was a great experienced to be with my classmates and Instructors. To cut it short, I survived the two semesters to finished the course. It was in March 2012 when I took up the Licensure Exam for Teachers and luckily pass it, our oath taking was on June 2012.

On March 2016 while I am in my working area, my Mentor, Dr. Amelita P. Sadueste, approached me and told me that I was already on the list of applicants for Senior High School Teachers. At first, I was very hesitant because I know that I am already stable in my job. But she was persistent, because she said that I will not grow professionally in my present job. As obedient as I always do, I went to the applicant's area and do my part as a Teacher applicant.

My life goes on and forgot already about the said teaching application. But on May 2016, an announcement came that I am qualified for Senior High School Teaching position and had to undergo the English Proficiency Test. Just for fun and compliance, I took the EPT. After a week I receive a letter to process my papers because I am qualified and luckily got the position of Teacher III. My mentors was very happy for me, considering that I did not undergo to the position of Teacher 1 and Teacher 2.

I know that this is not a simple decision in life. Even though I will be the one who will change the career, but I have to consult my family most specially my husband. But as expected, they all said that this is my life and I am old enough to know what is best for me and for my family. Naturally, I am a risk taker so I grab the opportunity to be a Teacher.

June 13, 2016 was my first day at Pantao National High School. My husband accompany me because that was my first time to go to that school. I met our principal, Mr. Victor A. Revale, who happens to have his roots to the barangay that I resides. He was very accomodating and turn overs me to the SHS Coordinator Mam Hilda S. Secillano who is equally accommodating as his. She toured me to the campus and introduces me to some of the Teachers specially in SHS. I saw familiar faces, teachers who got their education from my former institution, Polangui Community College. And with that, I know that I will enjoy my stay there. And the rest was history.

On June 13, 2021 was my five years in teaching at Pantao National High School. I know in myself that there are no regrets in changing my career. My students, colleagues, parents, community and other stakeholders are my life outside my family. At this point in time, I can say that " I am a Teacher, and proud to be one". I can no longer imagine my life without going to school during weekdays. It is always a pleasure serving my students and imparting my knowledge and expertise with them.

Until here, and more stories about myself will come soon, promise.

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for Quenn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments