Where are you, now?

2 33
Avatar for QueerlyDisabled
3 years ago

Are you where you thought you would be, five years ago? Ten? The day you graduated high school and had the world in the palm of your hand?

I’m not.
I’m nowhere near it.

I’ve had some amazing accomplishments, but I’ve had some major setbacks, too. The last five years has been a roller coaster, and just to give you a little outline:

  • ▪️Lost both my parents in less than three years.

  • ▪️ Fought (and still am) an uphill battle with the medical industry because of, in spite of, multiple chronic illnesses that have rendered me disabled and getting through life with a service dog nicknamed Radar.

  • ▪️ Graduated college shortly before my 39th birthday, with honors, and as a single parent of two kids.

  • ▪️ Found a career and within four years, decided I despised it, and found a new career that better suits me (and I love going to work - no sarcasm)

  • ▪️ Almost lost my partner to suicide.
    ▪️ Almost lost my daughter to suicide a month to the day after my father passed.
    ▪️ Watched my beloved show horse die before my eyes.
    ▪️ Bought a new show horse and brought home a 1st place at a nationally sanctioned show.
    ▪️ Paid off my student loans.
    ▪️ Paid off my mortgage.

  • ▪️ Drank too much coffee.

  • ▪️ Ate too many donuts.
    ▪️ Still looking for a partridge in a pear tree.

  • Oh, and had a silly notion to start a new business in the middle of a global pandemic, because insanity is a fun state in which to live.

So, this is me. Join me on my journey. Step outside your comfort zone, sit outside your box, and see the world through a different set of eyes.

12
$ 0.81
$ 0.81 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Doing things like that and experiencing those kind of things, i consider you as a brave person. Good luck on your future adventures.

$ 0.00
3 years ago