The mystery of it all.

3 26
Avatar for QueerlyDisabled
3 years ago

The big mystery to everyone is, “How do you do it?”

Its simple. It’s a choice of positivity, determination, and sheer grit.

My life is a battleground. 

I fight multiple chronic illnesses, a teen daughter with severe mental health issues, a partner with early-onset dementia, a full time job, a part time business, my own mental health, and a sexuality that is only becoming supported and celebrated, but often hated. 

I live in a world of many doctors, my own portable pharmacy, an insurance company that would drop me if the ACA would allow it, struggling with a very misunderstood notion of service dogs, and a body that is both in constant pain and I can’t feel. Not to mention a very demanding job in front-line customer service. 

“How do you do it?”

It’s the only choice I have. I can’t afford, mentally or financially, to lay down and die. It’s simple.  

Yes my struggle is real, it’s apparently more than most people can handle, but I keep going with positivity, kindness, and sheer grit. I do what I can and give it my best shot. 

It’s the only thing I know. 

9
$ 2.40
$ 2.40 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

I admire your courage to go on with positivity, a full determination that no hindrance and obstacle can conquer you to live life come what may.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very fantastic article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you have written great dear. keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago