TIFU by almost killing myself and 5 people in a sauna

1 19
Avatar for Qadis
Written by
4 years ago

Today after my workout I decided to try out my gyms sauna room. I went into the sauna ( which was practically full... had about 5 people in it) and after spending about 10-15 min, I was barely sweating. I decided that it would be a good idea to pour some water on the heating system ( the one that has rocks on top). I asked the people in the room if they would like me to make it a bit hotter by splashing some water on the rocks... everyone said yes. I took the little wooden water container that every sauna has, left the room, and went the pool that’s located just outside the sauna. I filled up the bucket, came back into the sauna and proceeded to splash a lot of water on the rocks. The room got much hotter right away. For some reason, my eyes started burning and my lungs felt like they were on fire. Everyone in the room started wheezing and coughing. We all rushed to get out of the sauna (the door is pretty small) and it was complete chaos. Everyone in the pool area was extremely confused as to why we all came flying out of the sauna. We were wheezing and coughing and dry heaving. I tried to figure out what was going on and I realized that the pool water is full of chlorine. When I poured it on the rocks, the steam it created must’ve Irritated our eyes, and lungs. Sure enough after googling around a bit when I got home. I realized that what I essentially did was gas everyone in the sauna with chlorine gas... which is what was used in WW1 as a chemical weapon.

Tl;dr almost killed a sauna full of people by pouring pool water onto the rocks... which turned into chlorine gas.

1
$ 0.00

Comments