My Escape From Art Block

0 34
Avatar for Pyper
Written by
3 years ago

I have been making art for as long as I can remember. Sketching using graphite and charcoal, and painting with acrylics are my mediums - all of which require patience, constant practice, and motivation.

Making art isn't easy, especially when artists encounter problems with demotivation and a lack of confidence. Personally, I've encountered struggles with proportions, blending, choosing color palettes, forms, and structure, but the biggest problem of all is art block.

My years in high school consisted of days, weeks, months, and years of art block. Despite being constantly chosen as the representative for poster-making contests (in my year level) and even division competitions (from my school), art block hindered my growth as an artist.

The hours spent during competitions were my practice hours - it was where I learned how to blend, how to motivate myself, and how to escape from the state of art block. At school, if I didn't place first, I'd place second but in interschool competitions where creativity and intelligence were combined, I stood no chance of winning.

The only time I ever won during an interschool competition was in 6th grade - back when I enjoyed every minute making art, back when I was full of motivation, back when I gave everything to grow as a young artist. Reminiscing, I realized, "if only I'd practice more, if only I'd spend more time making art." If only this, if only that.

By the time I reached my senior year in high school, I became friends with passionate people - they were the type of friends who'd motivate you to become the best version of yourself. Some of them were artists, poets, and romantics. They were also smart not only academically smart but life smart.

I used to carry this notebook where I put all my mini paintings, sketches, and poems and they were the few people who had access to that privacy. They really supported me - genuinely. I had a different notebook where I let them write their thoughts, write poems, and sketches - so I could have a memory of them with me.

There was this academic activity within our year level and my friends chose an art museum of some sort. My friends took black and white candid pictures of us just laughing and being happy, my classmates painted sunsets and nature, and others painted faces full of raw emotions. It was a splendid sight and a heartwarming moment.

Me and two of my friends bought sketchbooks together - only because it was cheap and had a nice cover. We'd draw during class, during breaks, and even at home. It was during my senior year being surrounded by supportive and passionate people that I was able to leave out of my art block shell.

I graduated and I and my friends have gone our separate paths now but everything that I've learned from them is embedded within my soul. In my freshmen year in college, I took the opportunity to become part of the Artes Visuales family - my former school's official art community. We'd draw together after school hours, talk about art and life, and give helpful tips to one another.

Despite moving to a different school, I continued the same practice - I motivate myself by saying "Always keep making art." Although I admit, I have a lot of unfinished artwork piled up, I have more finished paintings and sketches, and I'm no longer allowing myself to wallow in the pity of art block.

Now, I get to draw 3 or more sketches on my sketchbook and I'm trying out a different medium - digital art. I'm still getting the hang of it and it's certainly different compared to what I'm normally used to but when you have fun in what you do, everything feels more natural and engaging.

Here are some of my tips for those who are experiencing art block:

1.) Don't compare yourself to other artists. You are in control of your own pace, your own growth, and your own talent.

2.) Surround yourself with your passion - join art communities, be friends with fellow artists, and follow artists you look up to.

3.) Don't be mad at yourself and don't put yourself down. You have to be the encouragement and support system you deserve. There will be people who will help you realize this but you do not have to depend on others - fulfill it by being the encouragement you deserve.

4.) Don't focus too much on having the same features as the reference - just identify the proportions, look closely and move away from the artwork for you to identify where you can adjust and enhance the features.

5.) Find your art style - try out different art styles and different mediums! It's okay to have one or more art styles, that's even better! I'm discouraging those who copy the art style and artwork of others though... You can use the artwork as a reference but add spice to it - add your personality, your taste, and your style to it.

6.) Keep making art! Spend minutes and hours drawing, sketching, and painting. Motivate yourself to finish or make more than 1 artwork a day (unless it's a big painting or drawing, take your time!)

Here are some of my recent works with traditional art.

Don't be afraid to try new things when it comes to your skills/talent. You will never be able to grow if you keep holding yourself back. It's okay to feel scared about messing up but always bear in mind that mistakes are normal and that they can be overcome. Keep making mistakes until you find ways on how to overcome them.

Practice will always be a growth guide. It will lead you to the enhancement of your skills and even more confidence. Always keep sketchbooks and collect your artworks and over time, with thorough practice, you'll see the difference in terms of proportions, color palettes, figures, forms and structure, shadows, and lighting in your artworks. Through this, you'll be able to feel more proud of the growth you have acquired as an artist, so keep practicing, and keep making art.

1
$ 4.40
$ 4.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Pyper
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pyper
Written by
3 years ago

Comments