The Misty Bridge of Three Maidens. Kaunas, Lithuania.

0 50
Avatar for Pugnatabula
4 years ago

Even in the simplest places, there are wonders to explore. What seems to be an ordinary bridge for pedestrians and four legged, at certain times it can become a living being on it's own.

One of those times happened to me on 06.00, early in the Sunday morning. A day named in honor of sun. Yet, just as it majestically showed it's grace upon the horizon, a thick mist surrounded the earth. As if the sun had it's own stewardess and other guardians, who prepared the landing. For my own plain human eyes, the mist landed upon a bridge as some fantastical creature. It devoured everything beneath it for starters and continued it's reign upon the cold cement. It began at the farthest side of a bridge, which was closest to lake beneath it. Mist climbed out of water as some amphibian and slowly, but surely, it silently walked towards me.

I knew I had no chances against it. A small, puny human, against the wave. Even if my ancestors had build the whole bridge itself, the mist's might was incomparable. It dominated the surroundings. Even the air was already starting to grow wet and heavy.

Before I knew it, I was surrounded. The grand forest and water view, which was but a few moments so far beneath me, vanished. It seemed as if I could put out my arm and grasp the mist as if it was ice cream. All of the sounds I heard before: bird songs, car traffic, train, duck cracking, were muted. Only the mist and my own breath remained, as we collided with each other as lovers would.

Yet there was something else. A crude, cold metal touched my ankle. It was a lock. A lock, which was shackled by newlyweds. Names, which belonged to the couple, were already corroded out of sight. Only a small, almost readable date was left - 1998. A year of the Ocean. It occurred to me that this lock encountered with the mist like this not once or twice during the years. And, just as the lovers held their hands against hostile threats, it held too. Somehow, it gave me hope.

The wind started to rise and I could breath more deeply again. A leaf passed my eyes and landed nearby. It was a part of the fern. How did it land here? I couldn't know. The forest was still too far away for it to happen to be on wind's waves. Looking through the leaf reminded me of another bridge, quite different from this one.

I've heard someone sneaking behind me and just as I turned my head, my vision went black. A familiar voice calmly whispered "You got to see this, darling!" and took me by the hand, leading me through the stairs. We were descending. I managed a few glimpses and I saw a huge shadow before me. We were underneath the bridge. The hands of a person who lead me were warm and calmed me down.
"Listen," she whispered.
And for an unknown period of time, I listened. I've heard the sounds, which the mist had devoured, slowly becoming louder. Water, ducks, forest, wind. It enveloped me entirely. It seemed that by forgetting my vision, the hearing became much clearer. Until she let the blanket fall from my eyes. And the mist was over.


All photos and writing are done by me. For using any of that, please contact!
https://www.instagram.com/gardunytis/

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Pugnatabula
4 years ago

Comments