Writing a Reflection Paper: Step-by-step guide

0 47
Avatar for Psyche99
2 years ago

I was making my reflection paper tonight as a partial requirement of our FS1 project. As an Educ. student, writing reflection paper is not new to us.

Whenever I write my reflection paper, I feel so very confident of my ideas not until my Professor returned it to me with low score. I realized that my knowledge on writing reflection paper was not enough. Good thing, our professor shared a YouTube video on how to write a good reflection paper and as I watched the video, I realized that I really need a lot of improvement.

By the way, you can watch the video here.

Just tonight, while writing my reflection paper, I followed the guide that can be found in the video and I as read my paragraphs, it’s quite good and improving unlike my other old reflection papers.

I decided to share it here in read.cash just in case there are students out there who are also struggling in making their reflection paper. All of the succeeding information is from this site. It depends upon you if you’ll watch it or read it here.

Well, let’s start.

Before anything else, let’s define first What is a Reflection Paper?

  • A reflection paper is an academic paper that allows you to express your opinion towards a text using your personal experiences and personal thoughts.

  • The main purpose of this paper is to encourage you to explore your ideas/perception towards a text.

  • It also enhances your analytical skills because you need to express what you have in mind and how did you come up with that idea.

  • Aside from that, it is to express if the reading changed your personal interpretation or how did the text affected you.

For you to be able to come up with an idea, you have first to do brainstorming. In brainstorming, you have to consider these following questions:

1.1 What is the main point of the text?

1.2 What idea/ideas stood out for you? And why?

1.3 How does the text reinforce your ideas or existing assumptions? Or how does the reading challenge your existing knowledge?

1.4 Does the text improve your understanding towards your subject/lesson?

When you’re already done in brainstorming, this will be the time that you will organize all your ideas. The content of your reflection paper must have an Introduction, Body and Conclusion.

In order for us to understand better, the creator of the video used “Allegory of the Cave” by Plato as an example.

Allegory of the Cave by Plato

Here’s the summary of the text that we will use as an example of our reflection paper. You can read it here.

The Allegory of the cave will be our basis in writing the example of our reflection paper.

1. Introduction

1.1 Write your initial attitude about the text.

1.2 Write your own thesis (theory) or statement saying how the reading/text affected you.

(Ex. this is based on the Allegory of the cave story)

“Upon looking at the title I got overwhelmed and challenged at the same time because honestly I don’t have any idea about the meaning of the word “allegory” to start with. After a quick run through the text, I encountered terminologies I hardly comprehend. It’s so philosophical that I need to wake my inner philosophical self.”

2. Body

2.1 Write your experiential knowledge or learning by relating it in real life scenarios.

(Ex. this is based on the Allegory of the cave story)

“After reading the Allegory of the cave, I realize why some people are “confirmation bias”. These people only process or accept information that are consistent with their existing belief. Because they are limited to interpreting information from their own point of view like the two prisoners in the cave.”

3. Conclusion

3.1 Write or summarize the points in the text, all the things that you have learn and how are you going to make sense of these learnings.

“This reading offered me deeper understanding towards life, towards understanding people around me. That I should go beyond the physical attribute for me to fully understand and to discover truth and wisdom around me. By learning the allegory of the cave, I don’t need to be a philosopher to apply or execute correct discernment but I can broaden my understanding towards life.”

That’s it! I hope that this article will help you in making your reflection paper more organized. Thank you for passing by, Goodnight and Sleep well.

Love,

Psyche99


Note: all the information in this article were not mine. I just re-stated it here in read.cash. The original video will be found from the link above.

All images are from google.com

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Psyche99
2 years ago

Comments