Speaking Out In Nigeria: An Offence or A Wise Plan

0 18
Avatar for Psamy
Written by
2 years ago

Good afternoon everyone and welcome again 😊. I hope this week has been good to you.

My last post was about Manchester United and believe me when I say I am happy things turned out well 😊.. I'll make a post about that later.

What have we here today.. you see ehnn this country amazes me every single day. Yeah I know some of you don't find anything funny again but wait until I finish 😒.

I was listening to the news yesterday morning and I heard about what happened to a certain woman and a lawyer who were actually speaking about what they know.

A lot of us were aware about the end sars issue that happened last year and the massacre at the lekki toll gate 😔. May the souls of the deceased rest in peace.

Soo few months later the government of the country put out a call for witnesses. They said anyone who knows anything about what happened there should step out and speak out.

That's where the woman I mentioned earlier comes in. The woman obviously thinking that human rights still exists in this country was amongst those that stepped out to speak.

Now in the news yesterday, apparently after the woman came out to speak she has been the target of who knows who. Even up to the point of being beaten by cutlasses and almost being killed.

"Thank God for passersby" the woman said, she would have been killed all because she came out to speak against an injustice. In a country that claims to have a functional judicial system.

I couldn't even do anything other than just shake my head at the news.

The legal practisioner that represented the youths against the government has also reported various threats to his own life. And while listening all I could do was to wonder..

When does it end??

Seriously the government has tried everything they could to silence the youths, from banning Twitter to crypto currencies. It looks as if this government is in a war with it's citizens especially the youths.

Let's not even get started on the increase in gas price and proposed increase in petroleum price too. It seems everything they're doing now is to afflict the poor masses.

I remember a post I saw on Facebook yesterday. The handle said: "There's no middle class in Nigeria anymore, either you're poor or you're rich" .

Now the question remains that: "Would you also come out to testify about a wrong doing, especially when it involves any kind of authority in this country"

Once again thank you and have a wonderful rest of the week and one day I pray we'll look back at all this and smile through it.

Yours in Ink..Yours in Christ..

Psamy_Judah 🌹

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for Psamy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments