Quarantine Diaries

12 48
Avatar for Prudence
3 years ago

It was in the end of March this year when the Mayor of Lapu-Lapu City proclaimed the city to be under Community quarantine. They restricted the people to go out and to go in the city, except for the essential workers. Those who are considered to be one of the essential workers were required to bring necessary documents like border pass, certificate of employment and company ID, everytime they travel in and out the city. Public vehicles were also restricted.

Our company provided accomodation for their employees who resides outside of the city. They also provided shuttle services for those who live within the city. I was one of those employees who were chosen to stay in one of their accomodation. It was my first time to be far away from my family. I wasn't prepared for it, I mean who would be, right? Everone of us were shocked by the rapid spread of the Corona virus. Eventhough it was against my will to be away from my family, I had no choice because if I will not do it, we will have no source of income. My husband was laid off from his job and we had no savings at all.

I went to the accomodation on the 26th of March. I was informed that I will be staying there with 5 other more but they haven't arrived yet. The lockdown will start on the 29th so they still have more time. I stayed their for only 3 days. I decided to go home when I learned from my friend that our company is providing a ride for those employees who are staying outside the city. They have a permit to cross the border. I know that it will be very risky for me and most especially for my kids but i still did it. I know God will protect me from the virus.

On the night of April 16, 2020. I received a message from my sister informing us that her employer tested positive of the virus. She was worried about us because she had a direct contact with her employer the day before they knew about it and she always come by our house after her shift. I immediately coordinated with my superior, who advised me to take a leave first and coordinate with our barangay health workers to do a home quarantine. Me and my sister went to our barangay health center on the 17th and right on that day we started to isolate ourselves from our family. We stayed in a different house and was advised to stay there for 14 days.

Every other day, our barangay health workers will visit us to monitor us and our family. Our barangay captain also came to personally give us our "ayuda". That was actually one of the good things that happened despite being isolated. Ofcourse we did experienced discrimination and worst, even our family and friends who are nit included on the home quarantine, also experienced discrimination. Some of the "sari-sari store" owner will not sell them anything. There were even some who would comment that they shouldn't be roaming around because they might bring the virus with them.

It was a very stressful feeling to know that some of our friends and family were affected by our decision to tell our barangay official about our encounter with a "positive" person. We just encouraged ourselves that we only did it for the good for everyone. Good thing, God never forsake us. He continued to use few people to supply our needs and to comfort us.

It was a very long 14-day experience. All we did was to sleep, eat and watch korean novelas. God has been so good to us because no one from us has experience any symptom of the Covid. We finished the home quarantine without getting sick. Yes, we did feel home-sick but not with the flue. God is really so great!

The whole experience showed us who are the people we can truly trust. Since we are not allowed to go out, it was our husbands who took care of our children and also the one to cook for us everyday. It opened our eyes to the reality of the importance of saving and the value of good health. We became closer to God and to our beloved husbands. They never failed us.

There are so much to tell, but i will save it for the next article. Those stories have different focus. Hope you enjoyed reading. God bless us all.

13
$ 1.37
$ 1.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @esciisc
Avatar for Prudence
3 years ago

Comments

It's really sad that the lack of knowledge as well as the fear of being infected by the virus leads to people discriminating those who are covid 19 positive and even those who are only under monitoring. I've heard a lot of stories about that. Anyways, congratulations for surviving that 14 day quarantine amnd for enduring discrimanation as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are absolutely correct.. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one Dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for this remembrance, keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks... Yes i will

$ 0.00
3 years ago

good article , keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

welcome, check my article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure, will do

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ok thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago