"It's Only Words"

0 15
Avatar for Prudence
1 year ago

As the Bee Gees song goes, "Its only words and words are all I have to take your heart away", we can really tell that words are really powerful. It can make you fall in love, but it can also make you fall out of love. And even worse, it can take someone's dream away.

To the one's uttering the words, it doesn't matter to them if you get hurt as long as they speak what is in their mind. It is always the receiver of the word that suffers. The words uttered may noy affect right away but it stays in the mind, and for some reason, it just keeps popping up especially when the person is down. It keeps haunting you until you lose sanity. I have read a lot of stories of some people committing suicide just because someone told them some things about them. And it is really sad.

The words that hurt the most are not the one's that sounded really bad. Mostly, it is those that are delivered as an advice. People gets hurt by being adviced about reality in their life.

For example, if you say, "you are poor", to a poor person it won't hurt as much as to when say it,"Do you think I will be needing a scholarship like you, to get a degree? Do not compare yourself to me. It will take a lifetime before you can surpass what I have. My advice to you, stay where you are. Do not push yourself too hard. You won't succeed anyway." To some it may become an encouragement for them to strive even more, but to some, it will tear them apart and hit them so hard that they can no longer stand. It is like taking the wings away from a bird.

It is this realization that I have decided to be cautious with what I say a long time ago. Some would say that I am shy because I don't talk much. But what they don't really know is that I always have something to say but I practice it first in ny mind so that I would know if it will sound good. I edit it first before saying it but of course it will take time so by the time that I am ready to say it, they already have another topic so I end up not saying anything at all.

I was in 7th grade when I first realized that I hurt people by just delivering what seems to be a joke to me. It was common to say that,"hey it was just an expression", but one of my friend bravely approached me about it. At first I was worried why she was avoiding me for days until she told me that she got hurt with what I said to her. We were just joking that time and I never thought that that joke would put a stain to our friendship. Good thing is that she managed to tell me what I did wrong and gave me a chance to correct it. We are still friends although we haven't seen each other for a long time now.

But how about those that never approached me? Those people who remained silent after hearing a harsh comment from me? It really bothers me especially that I haven't seen them now. All I can do now is just to pray to God to let them find forgiveness for what I have said wrong because I really did not mean to hurt them. And moving forward, I will watch what I say or I will just not say anything at all because I was told that,"If you have nothing good to say then don't say anything at all."

1
$ 0.29
$ 0.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Prudence
1 year ago

Comments