English Proficieny

6 13

Well, before I share some tips, as for me, did you know that 5 years ago, I didn't even know that there is a difference in their and they're. 🤣

I admit that I have a really wack english skills and so dumb few years ago. I don't even know how I learnt to love to write because as much as I remember, I only got C+ grade in English in my senior year. 🤣

Fast forward today. My english is still not perfect. I don't even memorize all the rules, because as for me, as long as it sounds good, it's enough already. I rate my english as good only. Only good enough to let me communicate with other people with different nationalities, specially with my clients. So, if you compare my english skills 5 years ago to my present skills, my 5 years ago self will thank me for the practice I did to make myself better.

As for improvement, everything is PRACTICE. In my attempt to hone my english skills, I joined few international communities.

  • You can try here in read.cash, or try to join reddit. There's a lot of community on the web.

  • Find a forum that you might be interested in.

  • Join international groups and be active!

  • Don't be shy to say your thoughts even if they criticize your grammar, remember that it's part of your practice.

  • Remember that you are not there to compete, you are there to improve your english skills!

  • It is cliche but you can also try watch and listen to English movies. I think watching english movies played part for my improvement.

About verbal English proficiency, you can just do the same, although it is harder to practice especially if you don't have anyone to talk to. What you can do is try to play with an open mic while playing and remember to join english servers.(Any game as long as you can freely speak english.)

Loved my article?

Like, comment, and subscribe for more!!!

4
$ 0.00

Comments

I'm currently learning spanish and I guess your tips will be helpful to me as well. Thanks for sharing 🙂

I don't even memorize all the rules, because as for me, as long as it sounds good, it's enough already.

So funny but I can definitely relate to this. I can speak english fluently and with confidence but I never memorize those rules, memorizing os tiring. As long as what I say sounds good then it's all good, nevermind the rules 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Spanish is fun to learn, you can watch La Casa de Papel without subs if you get good at it. 😂 Because our mother tongue incorporated Spanish loanwords as a result of being a colony , it is easier for us to be proficient at it. ;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's quite easy. I'm able to understand some of the spanish words that are similar to Filipino words but it's hard when it comes to speaking 😅

I heard about La Casa de Papel a lot and thinking about watching it but I have to wait to be fluent at least 50% of the language lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article place support me and subscriber me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tips are very helpful..keep it up.. Would you like to subs. me back? 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure, done! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago